We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bayfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
North Redington Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is an older motel that has the advantage of being here first, right in the waterfront, a short walk to everything you go to St Augustine for. The fort entrance is just across the street, it is close to dozens of great restaurants and historical sites, homes, Flagler College, Lightner museum - you name it it's. nearby.
The rooms at the motel are a little small, but each room has a balcony/walkway with a bench to sit on and watch the activity outside. The owners did a nice job refurbishing the rooms, and they feel clean and comfortable.
Here is an often overlooked secret - above the lobby entrance is a balcony with several chairs and tables. Get yourself a bottle of wine, a sandwich or snacks and sit out there in the evening while the sun fades into twilight. The bay is just across the street with sailboats, tour boats and a tall ship. The horse-drawn carriages clip clop by waving hellos. People on the sidewalks below meander by clad in a rainbow of vacation wear. You'll have a great evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
First and foremost thank you for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive on customer service and we are happy you saw that.And hope Best Western Bayfront Inn falls into the planning again we will be more then grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    76
    59
    36
    28
See reviews for
81
142
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When we checked in, the room we were given had a problem with the bathtub. It pays to be nice when there is a problem. I reported the issue and the manager went above and beyond in making things right. The place is a little dated, but just look at it as "retro".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks a lot Dennis for writing a nice review for Best Western Bayfront Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time. i hope we se you next time one your visit to saint augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel....near everything in St Augustine..
Sightseeing trams stop out front of the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Free Parking on property
Just a few steps away from the Castillo de San Marcos" monument

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
As the General Manager, ensuring guest satisfaction is my main priority and we are glad that we able to satisfy yours. See you on your next visit
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is obviously an older hotel that's been extensively (successfully) renovated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable; The bathrooms are small but nicely tiled with new tub enclosures and fixtures. The grounds are spacious and nicely laid-out and there's a nice pool - the hotel looks out on the bay and has a small 2nd story deck looking out at the bay. There's a nice, albeit small and crowded, coffee shop next door. The hotel is well located in the historic area and most of the attractions are within walking distance - I would not stay further North. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm very happy that you enjoyed our historic Best western Bayfront Inn and your visit to Saint Augustine. Thank you for sharing a nice pic. See you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed here and although the hotel is older, it has been renovated to a nice standard with granite tops and modern bed. Our room was a bit "tight" getting past the bed, but we would certainly recommend this place to anyone going that way. Being just across the street from the fort, there were water views, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service and amenities so much.
We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Bayfront Inn at the beginning of May 2013 for a weekend, and it was a pleasant experience overall! As I mentioned in the subject line, the location is AWESOME. Close to all of the downtown bars and sites. I highly recommend grabbing some food at Cellar 6. It primarily has a young professionals crowd with live music on the weekends and a great drink menu and cool indoor setting. If you are a big craft beer or sports fan, I highly recommend JP Henley's. Has tons of draft/bottle choices and tons of TV's. The foods pretty darn good there as well! Getting sidetracked...

As I mentioned, the location is perfect for getting around and walking in downtown St. Augustine. The hotel room we stayed in was very clean and was comfortable. Not really any "amenities", but all the basics are there so it worked great since we didn't spend much time in/at the hotel anyway. The staff was nice while we were there too.

Just a heads up, parking in the lot is $7/car and it is limited. If the hotel is booked, they may only allow 1 car for your room in the lot. This detail may be on a Best Western booking site, but I was unaware of the charge when I booked the room.

Overall, a pretty decent experience at the Best Western Bayfront. I will probably book a room there again if/when I come back to St. Aug!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if possible...there is a gate (probably needs to be replaced!) to ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you joined our mailing list, that way you can take advantage of our monthly promotions for the next time you visit. If not, simply email me at sid.dua@jalaramhotels.com and I will add you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is our third yr staying here, and the inn has been updated so much! It is definitely getting better as it 'ages'! Our room was always cleaned thoroughly, and we were always greeted by friendly staff. The parking fee is minimal compared to other parking fees in the historic district. We will most certainly return next yr and look forward to seeing friendly faces.

Room Tip: Rooms by the office are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Denise so much for staying with us. Were glad you enjoyed your stay. We would like to see you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Bayfront 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that’s ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.