We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midway, Georgia
1 review
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

my husband and i stayed for a birtday and had wonderful time. the room was nice and we were in walking distance to the historic district.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you very much for your review. Spending your birthday in St. Augustine can be a real treat and we're glad we were part of your celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    76
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
114
540
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The good: happy hour, free bikes
The bad: selection of food
The ugly: we stayed in the "nicest" room and were woken up by our ceiling dripping water furiously!!! It was supposed to be our day to sleep in too. Manager was pleasant but the owner was nowhere to be
Found and we were only refunded 50 of our 300 dollars. All in all I think it was a waste of time, I wish we had
Gone somewhere else :(

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The St. Francis Inn is our favorite place to stay in St. Augustine. Staff is friendly and helpful. We especially love it at Christmas time with its decorations and tree in the parlor. Rooms are very comfortable.

Food and Drink are always present. Breakfast buffet seems to be never-ending--cereals, yogurt parfaits, breads, eggs, biscuits and all the trimmings. Evening social and dessert treats at night. Everything is delicious and presented beautifully.

Location is great as it is just a short walk to the center of the city.

An added treat on Sunday evening was a concert in the garden by musician Mike Bloomer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We found this place by accident when looking for a place to stay on short notice. It is a classic Old School gem. If you are looking for authenticity and atmosphere then be sure to check it out. It is in a quiet secluded area of town and off the main streets. The amenities included an evening social hour with wine and beer and light snacks. In the morning you will enjoy a full breakfast before starting your adventures. Bicycles are available for use to the guests. Expect gardens and romantic quaint surroundings with quiet porches and swings. We loved our one night stay and would return again.We were given all the info about eateries and local attractions. It was a wealth of information that we needed at the time. Thanks Dana!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay here. To begin with, there were so many extra amenities: flavored water, variety of teas & coffees, social hour with local wines and beer, desert hour...We stayed in the Willis room in the building across the street and found it charming. Spacious and comfortable with a king size bed and spa tub. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Even the cats were welcoming. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The St. Francis Inn, a Select Registry Inn, is conveniently located in the heart of the restored historic district of St. Augustine, the nation's oldest city. It's on St. George Street, a residential neighborhood, just a short walk away from many historic sites, restaurants, shops and the waterfront. The Inn offers a peaceful oasis with its shaded courtyard and garden, swimming pool, balcony seating areas, and comfortable lobby living room. Each guest room and suite is unique, with both period furnishings and modern amenities designed for guest comfort. The complimentary breakfasts feature special hot entrees, baked breads, etc. The daily evening social is an opportunity to meet other guests over a complimentary glass of wine or beer. And, in the evening, the Inn offers complimentary desserts with coffees, teas and hot chocolate. Private, off-street, complimentary parking is available right across the street, and guests have complimentary access to an offsite fitness club.
The owners of the historic St. Francis Inn certainly know how to run a bed and breakfast! Their professional touch is evident everywhere, and the friendly, helpful, competent service helps guests feel right at home. This Inn is a great choice if you're visiting historic St. Augustine!
The only downside is that many of the rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors, requiring stair climbing (and lugging your bags up and down).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

From the second we checked in, we felt welcomed and pampered. Our suite was cozy and very historic. Even though we only stayed for two nights, we felt very fortunate to find such a unique place to lodge. They always had a hot breakfast waiting for us, evening snacks with spirits (not the ghostly kind), and desserts at night which were offered in a quaint dining room. They provided a pitcher of fresh citrus water that was very refreshing after walking through the town seeing the sites. Most of the attractions are within walking distance and although we didn't get the chance, the Inn provided bicycles at no charge. On our last night we had experienced static noises coming from our clock radio four times during the early hours, even though it was not turned on. Maybe it wasthe ghost of Lily.......

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.