We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne & Sweet Treats
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvelous Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are visiting St. Augustine, there are over 40 B&B's in this small historic area but the St. Francis Inn is by far the best. The inn is VERY old, the oldest in the area, but very well appointed by very relaxed and happy staff. All the amenities that go with your stay make it feel so warm and comfortable. The location of the B&B is marvelous, so close to all that you want to see, but far enough away for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dummet room with a very large bathroom and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    70
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
106
497
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

4 of us high school girlfriends stayed here several nights to celebrate our 60th birthdays and the staff went out of their way to make our stay exceptional, including going over the map with us and finding great restaurants, letting us use the facilities until our rooms were ready and giving out the recipes to their delicious food! We stayed in The Cottage, with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a full kitchen, which was very clean and made us feel at home. It is right in the middle of the historic section and we were able to walk almost everywhere. I slept on the sofa bed and even that was very comfortable. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: This is one of the few bed and breakfasts that can accommodate 4 friends at a reasonable price in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great little bed and breakfast. Free bikes, which is awesome because that is all you need in this little town! Great food, clean amenity. Same price as a hotel, but such a better experience! Pool, great breakfast, old house with a lot of character. Very quiet location, options for different rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at the Inn was the first true vacation we have had in a long time. Not because we haven't been anywhere else, but because every detail we could think of was handled by the staff of this gem in America's oldest city. The Inn is located on the south side of the city, out of the tourist bustle, but within walking distance of everything. The beds were comfortable, the decor was unique and homey, the bathrobes in the closet were soft and warm, and the sherry in our room provided a smooth transition from tourist to bedtime.
Breakfasts were great, and the variety each morning of our 3 day stay made them special. Tea, coffee and flavored water were available all day, and into the evening. We managed to catch one of the afternoon social hours with wine, beer and a fantastic snack tray. There was also desert available in the evenings which fortunately for my waistline we only returned to once. We even had a brief visit by one of the spiritual residents on our second night!
From help with directions, use of the beach cruisers to ride around the historic district, and recommendations for the type of restaurants we were looking for, and spotlessly clean rooms, Joe and his staff insured everything was perfect. Thank you Caroline and Linda for answering my many questions. We would return in a heartbeat, and highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a unique place to stay during the Gator Bowl, for a beach getaway, or after a Jaguar's game.
GO GATORS!

Room Tip: We stayed in Miss Emily's room. A lovely second floor space with a private balcony, a jetted tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We enjoyed our three nights at the St. Francis Inn. Joe and Margaret made us feel welcome and at home in our Saffron Suite. Close to the water and a short walk to the main part of the old town. This property has so many amenities, great food and even a ghost has been reported on the third floor of the main building. Joe and Margeret have great stories and are generous with their time. The breakfasts were tasty and no one walks away hungry. A bottle of sherry in the room for a late night sip was an extra special touch and complementary desserts and wine in the evening in the courtyard were also offered. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at the inn. It was even better than before. We stayed for two nights in the dummet room for Halloween eve and Halloween night. The slanted stairway, uneven floors, and creepy old pictures in the room gave us the Halloween spirit as soon as we checked in..but the room was very luxurious. Soft linens...whirlpool tub, TV, mini fridge, sherry, mints and plenty of pillows. I was also impressed to see other guests decorating and carving pumpkins for the holiday...I look forward to returning next year and doing the same. As before, the food, drinks and atmosphere couldn't be beat. We are already planning our trip next year. Also, the pumpkin cookies and latte were delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I organize an annual retreat for investors of our non-profit advocacy organization. We look for inns of about 16-20 rooms, with meeting space, and in an interesting location (not a major city that most everyone's already been to). St. Francis Inn perfectly fit the bill. The guest rooms were spacious and beautiful (and they were kind enough to allow one of our guests to bring their dog), and there was space for our attendees to relax on a couch or chair and have tea/coffee in the morning or wine in the evening. It's within walking distance to the downtown St. Augustine area, so we didn't need to rent a bus to get where we needed to go (and with the narrow brick streets, you probably wouldn't be able to anyway).

Our meetings were held in the Llambas House across the street from the hotel. It's a little dated (after all, it's the second oldest house in St. Augustine), but the size was good for 20 people, and they provided tables, chairs, and a screen for our presentations, so it felt more cozy (and they do have a heater/air conditioner). Since the weather was nice, our large group broke into smaller groups and some pulled their chairs outside to continue the discussion! The Inn also provided coffee and tea service throughout our meetings, which our attendees valued highly.

I really can't thank the amazing staff enough. Joe made the process of booking the St. Francis Inn very simple. They offered several vegetarian and vegan options for our decadent breakfasts and catered lunch/dinner to accommodate members of our group. Mike was incredibly helpful when my laptop wasn't able to properly hook up to the projector they graciously provided for us; he made a run to Radio Shack just to get us the parts we needed. Now THAT'S service!

St. Augustine was a great place to hold our retreat. We did a historical walking tour that focused on the civil rights movement---amazed by all the great history! We also enjoyed a dolphin and nature eco-boat tour---our members found this to be the highlight of our activities.

I definitely plan to come back to St. Augustine on my own time, and no doubt we'll be staying at the St. Francis Inn!

Room Tip: I loved Emily's Room - located in the house across from the main St. Francis house with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.