We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ghost sightings, but lots of comfort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne & Sweet Treats
Central Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“No ghost sightings, but lots of comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We just got back from a long weekend at the St. Francis Inn. It was everything I was hoping for, and more. The inn is very easy to find and is tucked back on a cobblestone side street. We were greeted warmly and told some history about the inn. Adele even gave us recommendations on restaurants and told us their complimentary car would be available to take us to/from dinner. She took us up to the third floor where our room was located (Overlook Room). The inn is so charming, with what seems to be original glass in most of the windows and slanted floors & stairways as you would expect from a property that old.

Our room was very large and contained a queen four-poster bed and a two-person jacuzzi tub (which was MUCH welcoming after walking all day). Large floor-to-ceiling windows looked over St. Francis Park and the Wilson House across the street. Every now and then you'd hear a horse clopping down the cobblestone street from one of the carriage rides. The bed was very, very comfortable (but slightly creaky). It was extremely quiet at night and I didn't hear much of the other guests (which was a concern of mine).

The courtyard outside is beautiful. We enjoyed our evening cocktails out there watching the antics of the resident cat.

The dining room inside was nice and set up with several small tables so you could easily chat with other guests or keep to yourselves. We did not get to enjoy the evening nibbles since we were going to dinner, but we did partake in dessert both nights and breakfast in the morning. Food was wonderful and staff was very accomodating while also respecting your desire for privacy.

The only disappointment was I didn't see any sight of the ghosts that haunt the inn. (But of course that's not the fault of anyone except the ghosts)!

We will DEFINITELY be back and would highly recommend the St. Francis to anyone seeking a quiet getaway.

  • Liked — Beautifully preserved building and wonderful staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    70
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
106
497
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The St. Francis is a quiet B & B in Old St Augustine. It is well kept and the staff is very attentive. Although it is a short walk to the active downtown area, it is very quiet. The buffet breakfast was nice so you didn't need to rush for a sit down like some other B & B's. There was the novelty of the Inn being haunted which was uneventful on our stay. Thank you very much!

  • Liked — Very quaint, interesting, great staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

My family loves historic places, so for Girls Getawaiy this year we stayed at this incredibly historic, genteel, peaceful Bed and Breakfast near the heart of St. Augustine. St. Francis Inn offers a beautiful, floral, fountain courtyard as well as a nice dining room and comfy lounge. There is wine and hors d'heuvres in the afternoon and a dessert feast late in the evening, so it is far more than a B & B. The staff is so helpful in terms of what to do and taking you there. Each staff member is warm and friendly, and went the extra mile to provide the special touches which made our stay luxurious. There were four of us, and we had lots of hot water for showers, and no squeaky floors or thin walls. Our thermostat was modern, our pretty rooms were spacious, and our beds and pillows were soft, so we were able to be ever so comfortable. The pool is just perfect for relaxing, exercising or cooling off while chatting. It is secluded yet the town of shoppes and historic places is close. We loved St. Francis Inn and could not find one thing to criticize during our three night stay. We give it our highest recommendation.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

A girlfriend and I recently enjoyed Girls' Week at this bed and breakfast. We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay. The day begins with a huge, southern breakfast (hot items vary daily) followed by unlimited coffee, tea all day. An Evening Social Hour features hors d'oeuvres and beer and wine from 5:30-6:30 which is fabulous either in the courtyard, living room or dining room. Dessert is served at 7:30 and again delicious! The staff makes your stay very special; they will accommodate every need with a smile! Also included is a daily gym pass, cream sherry in your room, bicycles and passes to local attractions. We enjoyed the town (restaurants, shops, historic sites) as well as the beach, lighthouse and a day trip to New Smyrna Beach (1 hr south). Can't wait to go back with hubby!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

The St. Francis Inn was absolutly wonderful. My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary and they were great. The Inn is clean and cosy a real feeling of being home. The staff was super!! They have bikes you can use for riding around the town. They will even take you in their private car and drop you off free of charge. The food is excellent. Homemade breakfasts with free wine and beer. Coffee, tea and homemade cookies available all day long not to mention the social hour and dessert time. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and inviting. They will make reservations for you and assist you in any way they can.

  • Liked — The friendly and outgoing staff
  • Disliked — didn't get to stay long enough
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Anna's room. Check-in with Bev was great. She was very informative with maps and restaurant recommendations, free passes to the lighthouse and discounted info for the Oldest House -- we took advantage of all. Breakfast and the social hour were excellent and enjoyable in the courtyard. We did a morning trip to the beach upon receiving directions to their beach property which offered us parking, chairs, towels, bottled water & bathroom.

Overall, this B&B experience wowed us with their attention to detail and little extras that you will truly appreciate!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Recently, my husband and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the St. Francis Inn at St. Augustine. This was our third visit and we continue to go back because of the wonderful way we are treated by the staff. The varied accommodations are interesting, delightful and very inviting. Some of the amenities include, a very special breakfast, a social hour and a delicious dessert. The courtyard is exquisite; a peaceful photo moment, or just a place to relax and enjoy the charming ambiance. We particularly enjoyed being chauffeured to an upscale restaurant for dinner one evening by the Innkeeper’s driver, and then promptly retrieved and returned to the Inn with just a simple phone call. The Trolley stops are near the Inn, and the Inn provides visitors free parking – so we didn’t have to drive the entire time we were visiting. We recommend the beautiful St. Francis Inn to all our friends! We plan to return to the Inn each year, it is such a treasure.
www.stfrancisinn.com

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.