We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne & Sweet Treats
Elwood, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days. (Yes, they were kind enough to give us break on the rate!). The staff was VERY accomodating, friendly and helpful. Have to mention Heather, Kelly and Tracey, but everyone was equally great. They all go well above the call of duty to insure a pleasant stay. You want it, you got it. It's a beautiful building built in 1790 with Spanish and English features. The courtyard is especially noteworthy. Located in the old part of town so the surroundings make it feel like you've stepped back in time. Trolley stop right around the corner. Walking distance to the center of St.George St. and most of the main attractions. Many amenities including a beach house, access to a health club, discount tickets and many more. Would stay here again any time. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different suites. Both were equally charming and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    70
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
106
497
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the St. Francis Inn almost 20 years ago now. We have returned there frequently to enjoy weekend 'get aways' together since and even before 1995. Everyone on the staff has been cordial, interactive, and helpful in every sense of the word. In fact, we even know several members of the staff by name! We look forward to our return sometime soon. We especially enjoy those exceptional breakfasts, which the Inn provides every weekday and weekend morning, along with those 5 p.m. socials, including wine and appetizers. The St. Francis Inn is our 'home' away from 'home'! Thank you for creating such an enjoyable environment for both of us (over the years) as well as for other guests! Ciao, John and Anna in Orlando, Florida.

Room Tip: Choose South side rooms on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago burbs
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

PERFECTLY CLEAN! We stayed in THE COTTAGE so we could each have our own bed (3). We also had a separate entrance than the inn-but it was right next to the entrance. Staff was wonderful: Heather is a sweetheart who went above & beyond for the guests at the inn. Tracy is so kind & helpful & we really enjoyed meeting Kelly on our last day too! Breakfast, Evening Social (warm appetizer & alcohol) & Dessert Hour were wonderful! Best sheets ever with very comfortable beds! We loved the free lighthouse passes & privileges to utilize the beach amenities! The grounds were picturesque! I can't wait to come back again! Thank you to all of the staff who do an amazing job here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food-Wow!! All of the breakfasts were so awesome. Loved happy hour and dessert time later.
Atmosphere-great location. Walking distance to downtown and Flagler.
Cleanliness-spotless. The grounds are so pretty and kept up by the gardener.
Service -Tracy was very nice. Heather was all about keeping us happy. She truly goes above and beyond the call of duty.
Everyone was kind and helpful.
Stayed at the cottage. Great private entrance, comfortable beds/bedding, wonderful amenities, kitchen=charming.
Had a nice beach day at the Francis Inn area. Our mother-daughters trio had a wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our second stay at St Francis Inn and we absolutely love it. When we first got there we had forgotten our coupon and gift certificate. They were able to look up the gift certificate in their system and take our word for it that we had a coupon and applied the savings to our bill. There is alway ice and ice water in the lobby. At 5:00-6:00PM is happy hour with a great snack and all sorts of wines. Later they had dessert. We had missed dessert but Heather saw us out relaxing by the pool and asked if she could bring us some. Breakfast this morning was wonderful. We had egg-in-a-basket and hash brown casserole with a cinnamon roll and lots of other stuff.
We loved the courtyard and spent a lot of time there including eating meals. October is a wonderful time to be there.
The rooms are quaint, comfortable and unique. Everything is clean and well decorated. The entire staff goes out of their way to help and are very friendly at every opportunity. We will go back every chance we get.

Room Tip: Third floor room was nice and quiet. Rooms on the courtyard may not be as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We only stayed for two nights (unfortunately) but what an exceptional place to stay. Everyone so friendly,fantastic location and amazing rooms. We booked to go back before we left as we are travelling to Florida in January again and would like to explore St Augustine when it is a little cooler. Well done St Francis Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When you first walk into the St. Francis lobby, you can't help but to feel right at home. The entire staff that work here are simply amazing and are more than willing to go above and beyond for their guests. The Inn is located on George St. And is in walking distance of shops, restaurants, museums, bars and other attractions that make St. Augustine one of the most interesting and historic places to visit in the US. St. Francis Inn has breakfast, lunch and dinner choices available to their guests all day everyday with different special items throughout the week and the best part is that you don't have to pay extra to eat here because its all included with your stay. The women that cook in this place should have their own cooking show on the food network because everything that they whip up here is ***** (FIVE STAR QUALITY). This Inn has it all, from a swimming pool to free Wifi available all around the property area, in-room refrigerators, pet friendly rooms, private parking. In addition, they also have free bicycles for guests to use if they don't feel like driving around! This place is straight to the point, no strings attached! It's a Home Sweet Home Feel Great kind of place. It's my little home away from home. Whether your on a business trip or vacation with a loved one or family, I recommend that you stop by the St. Francis Inn and see for yourself. Filled with fun, history and everything in between, they even have beach rentals available!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.