We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Port Richey, FL
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

our 2nd stay here and better than last time! staff are wonderful, non intrusive. food divine. rooms comfortable, nice high ceilings. location is perfect. down historical/residential St. George St., right around corner from trolley. easy to walk to at all hours. and they've their own parking. perfect perfect. a little pricey during peak season but well worth it.

Room Tip: check out their website to see rooms. walls thin, AC and heat do make some noise. ductwork in close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    76
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
114
542
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Last October...My husband ( then fiance') and I had to change our big wedding plans at the last minute and frantically had to think of a back up plan to still make it a memorable day for us. St Francis Inn took all of our concerns and took care of each and every one of them. All the staff pitched in and made it a day that was out of a fairy tale book. We checked in on a Thursday afternoon-upon check in they had everything all planned out for us. We went upstairs relaxed for a bit and they booked a yacht tour on the schooner freedom that night along with a romantic dinner reservation- a perfect way to relax the night before our wedding. The morning of the wedding we met with Janice, the wedding planner at the Inn, and went over all details that would go on that day- she had EVERYTHING taken care of...down to every detail that we wanted ( she even coordinated an officiate for the wedding so we didn't have to). It was just my husband and I,along with 2 others - so it was a very small intimate wedding...but was very unforgettable. Champagne, cake, music, keepsakes...even making our photographer feel at home with being able to take pictures all over the property. The guests were so wonderful as well - all watching from the second floor balcony and cheering as we said "i do". Everything was more than we ever could imagine....the cake was beautiful AND delicious- we saved the topper in our freezer and are going back to the St Francis Inn on our first anniversary to enjoy it :) After the ceremony, champagne toast and cake cutting we went to take pictures all over St Augustine and to return 2 hours later, to a horse drawn carriage waiting for us, to ride off on like Cinderella and her Prince. The carriage took us to a intimate dinner for 2 in town, in which the St Francis Inn had booked for us, which was wonderful!! When we got back to our room we found all our items ( cake topper, glasses,cake cutting set, flowers, candles, sand ceremony vase, etc) all packed away nicely in a box for us to be able to take home with us. (In which when we got home, when unpacking, we found that Janice had placed our champagne cork with our names and date written on it!! what a fabulous and unexpected surprise! fantastic little detail that we will cherish forever) Our room was beautiful, we stayed in the Garcia Suite. It is a bit of a climb, but we didn't mind the exercise. The bed was extremely comfortable and the tub was amazing!! My husband loved the complimentary Sherry that was in the room. ( we actually went to the winery and bought a little bottle to take home) The next morning, we ordered breakfast in bed and it was wonderful! LOTS of food and perfect for romantic getaways! During our stay we enjoyed all the complimentary snacks and beverages in the lobby along with the delicious desserts at night. Unfortunately we were always out and about that we did not get to take advantage of the social hour, but I heard it is wonderful. and we also used the beach cruiser bikes to go around town. We felt like kids again, but they really came in handy and we were able to see more in the town than we would of on foot. St Francis Inn also booked a Ghost Trolley Tour for us as well while we were there. This was fun! We had to at least do one ghost tour while we were there...lol. They absolutely thought of everything! they took wheat we said we wanted and made it happen. Absolutely wonderful staff and wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend it for anyone! :) We were so sad when we had to leave :( Yesterday, I made our anniversary trip for October and we can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

you've stayed at the St. Francis Inn on three occasions, each time it has been spectacular. First is the location! The fact that it is located away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown is wonderful! The time of year is key (we come in Jan and May) January the weather is cool and the rooms are fine and comfortable even with the air off. When we visit in May FL is hot and the air has never failed us so far! I love the food served in the dining room! The staff is friendly...busy at times but worth the wait for smiling and familiar faces. We usually bring our two Chihuahuas and have never had a problem rooming them in the Inn. The price for bringing the dogs is reasonable and they are more than accommodating. they even leave treats for them! The rooms are comfortable and not over the top, nor do they have a hotel feel which is nice. We've roomed in Margret's Room, Marie's Room and the Garden Hideaway. The Garden Hideaway is beyond perfect and quiet and comfortable! I love the small, quick stay feeling of Marie's Room and Margret's room is good for longer stays. We plan on staying here again and compare it as the best to several Inns we've stayed in previously. It was clean and had no foul odors (based on an experience elsewhere). In The garden hideaway the hot tub was perfect, clean and inviting...we appreciate the clear instructions on how to operate. I'm not sure if I suggest this for people with kids, but excellent for children of the furry kind! If you ask they will even suggest restaurants that are pet friendly!

Room Tip: The outlying rooms are nice. If you like peace and privacy I suggest the Garden Hideaway...they mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is the best! This was my second time staying at this B&B and enjoyed it both times. The place itself is beautiful and historical. It's located in the south part of downtown, and is very convenient. There's so much to see and do in St. Augustine and the staff is more than willing to help you. St. Augustine is a city everyone should visit at least once in their life, and this B&B makes sure you are comfortable in your stay. Last year, I stayed in the cottage (suggested for families or large groups) which is accommodating for up to 6 people. Last weekend, I stayed in the Dummett Room (up to 2 people only). I have no complaints about either stay, and really enjoyed myself both times. I plan on going back sometime this year again, it's a perfect place to relax and get away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is the perfect place, in the perfect location, with a perfect staff. Relax and enjoy ALL the amenities and discounts for nearby attractions. One block from the trolley (must use this), ample parking (which for St Augustine is almost Impossible) and a bit of history itself. Built in 1791 its quaint, charming and comfortable. Ask the innkeeper anything, and they will go out of their way to help you. This is the place to go in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

First time in a B&B for me. I am the traveler who asks "how old is your hotel?" right off the bat! I like new, fresh properties. But if you're in St Augustine, try this B&B. Staff was beyond nice. We had the Ballerina room. The bathroom had a large tub w shower and a vanity large enough for my small suitcase. The countertop held as many toiletries as you could pack! We slept well in the bed; it had a thick plush mattress. There was not much seating in the room, just two chairs on either side of the tv and the bed. But hey, it's a bedroom. Plenty of room in the common area to sit. We kept to ourselves, but noticed some guests chatting and socializing. Social hour was a treat after we had spent a long time walking around town. For breakfast, we had a small selection of hot and cold food. It all tasted very good! I'd visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you your review! So glad we could be your first experience in a B&B - doubly glad you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A very special historical Inn located within walking distance to St. George Restaurants, Shops and Bars, the staff made us feel extremely welcome. An added bonus for the St. Francis was parking directly across the street, a value the majority of downtown accomodations do not have. The only down side was the water pressure from the Shower being barely at a drizzle which will hopefully be fixed for later guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.