We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   70 Cuna Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREEBIES!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first Bed and Breakfast, and couldn't be more pleased with the Carriage Way Inn. Upon arrival, we were graciously greeted by Michaele, the owner, who provided us with her top restaurants and attractions. Our room was clean, cozy, and beautifully decorated. The location of the Carriage Way Inn is ideally suited for walking to the finer restaurants, bars, and city attractions. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast including quiche, monkey bread, bacon, and fresh cut fruit. We recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that plans on staying in St. Augustine!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
From the second I received your email inquiries, I knew you would be such a joy to host. I wish you both the absolute best in your studies and career. I truly appreciate the great review you posted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
381
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was our first BB and it was absolutely more then what we expected! The service was fantastic and the rooms with gorgeous and it was in a great location of the city. Carriage way takes care of their guests very very well!
I recommend it to anyone, you will have a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
One of my favorite things as an innkeeper is introducing first-time B&Bers to the B&B experience. I have adored B&Bs for almost 2 decades; hence the reason for getting in the business. I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for contributing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Carriage Way is really a nice place to stay while in St. Augustine! If I could give it another half circle rating I would. The innkeeper was so accommodating and helpful with planning our time! Our room was just as described and extremely clean! Breakfast was wonderful!!! This B&B has ample private parking and is within walking distance to just about anything you want to go do while visiting St. Augustine. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Your wonderful review was so refreshing! Thank you for taking the time to write it and highlight all the great amenities at Carriage Way. We pride ourselves on our Superior White Glove awards for housekeeping. Stay warm in West Virginia and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was very convenient for walking around St. Augustine. Sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine (free) after a long day of sightseeing was lovely. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to see and restaurants to try. Breakfast was different every day and very enjoyable. It is a bit pricey but location is everything.

Room Tip: The Burkley Room is quiet but it is very small and there is a bathroom next door for another room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Sipping a glass of wine on the verandas is a definite "must do" at Carriage Way. We have an absolute great location in our amazing historic district and provide fantastic amenities including on-site parking, hot table side breakfast, complimentary beverages including wine and fresh baked sweet treats every day plus WiFi and flat screen TVs in each guest room. As we continue to amazing renovations to the property, all the rooms will sparkle like "gems." Thank you for your review and calling us the "Gem of St. Augustine."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I were in St. Augustine for his birthday. Prior to arriving, I had the pleasure of making plans with Michaele via email to help have a few special touches added to our weekend which included a walking tour and a birthday cake. She was very helpful and accommodated my requests, along with giving some excellent recommendations on things to do, places to eat and so on.

When we arrived we were greeted by Matthew, followed by Michaele. I had a feeling they would be nice based on previous discussions via email, but meeting them in person proved me right and they are genuinely nice people. We stayed in the Travertine room which was recently updated...hard wood floors, travertine shower with rain head, huge bed..it was perfect! Not to mention it wasn't overly feminine despite the deep purple/gray walls...my husband actually liked the color and darker wood tones to go along with it. Not only was the room great, but the location of the B&B couldn't have been any better. It was in walking distance to everything! The only time we needed our car was when we arrived to park and when we left to leave. It was great!

The entire time we were there, whenever we were out and wanted to go back for something, we would say, "Let's stop at home first before we go out to dinner." We said that because it truly felt like home. So welcoming and cozy! Breakfast is served between 8:30-10:00am and every morning they serve something different. Despite how weird some things may sound when they tell you what's being served, eat it..you will not regret it because everything they made was delicious. If I remembered to ask for a few recipes, I would have because it was that good.

This is a true B&B and I would highly recommend it anyone that wanted to visit St. Augustine. As it's not on one of the main streets and on a side street, it's close to EVERYTHING. Go here and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We truly appreciate your very informative review. Thank you for being so genuine yourself :) Carriage Way is your home away from home. It was our total pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Michaele and her husband are keeping up the reputation and atmosphere of the Carriage Way B & B. The rooms have been updated and redecorated; the location is ideal for walking into the heart of Saint Augustine. Breakfasts are attractively presented and very tasty as well as nutritious. This was our third visit over the years and we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
You review means a great deal! It has and will continue to be our goal to convert the current Carriage Way repeat guests into our repeat guests as new owners. It has been a highlight of the ownership meeting the repeat guests. As you mentioned, we are continuing great legacies while renovating and refreshing. We look forward to your 4th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff here are phenomenal! The location is close enough to enjoy but far enough to not annoy you at night. I don't know how we will top this weekend! They even let John go early to decorate the room and when he was running late they helped him finish it.
Thanks,
John and Christy Guffey

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Christy and John, you two are just the neatest couple. We were so delighted to watch all the "romantic" preparations unfold for your anniversary. The entire staff wishes you many more wonderful anniversaries. Thank you for the amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast

Address: 70 Cuna Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the "Heart of the Historic District" where you will find the beautifully restored Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast. Located amidst restaurants, attractions, museums, and art galleries. Parking is free and on-site. Enjoy a hot table side served breakfast including freshly baked breads, complimentary beverages including wine, afternoon deserts and WIFI. You deserve the very best in hospitality, you deserve the Carriage Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Way b&b
Carriage Way Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.