We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner type place but beats Denny's everyday..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
900 Ponce DeLeon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-824-4377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Diner type place but beats Denny's everyday..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is a diner. The food is good and the service is always good. Their pies are the best and made on site. You can buy whole pies and take them to a family gathering or other event. The pies are so popular that they sell out during Thanksgiving and the Christmas season so plan accordingly. You can also place an order in advance if I'm not mistaken.
Again this is not 5 star dining. It is good diner food and beats Denny's every day of the week and twice on Sundays.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    20
    26
    11
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yuck!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

A horrible Denny's look alike. Salad was brown lettuce. Pie was fresh from the freezer. Fish and chips greasy. Our server's shirt look like in was last washed a month ago. Go anywhere else.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How long???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My partner and I dedcide to go out for coffee and pie, dont think we could get a worse waitress she came and took our order 2 coffee's and 2 slice of pie not hard one might think huh!!!

she brought our coffee.. no creamer so I asked for the creamer, she brought the creamer no pie...
I asked about the pie the waitress then said it would be just a min.

5 mins later still no pie so I asks the waitress about the pie again and by this time the waitress couldnt remember what we had even asked for so had to take our order again!!

5mins later still no pie.. the manager was wondering around smiling and asking people if things were ok.. she made her way to our table and she asked if she could do anything for us, i said yeah get our order she took our order AGAIN!!! and she would get it real QUICK!!

5mins later the pie's came. we wait about 20mins for our pie which needed no cooking no heating how could this go so wrong???

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent pie, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love Village Inn. Whenever I am in Florida I hit one. I wish we had them in NY. The service was great. The waitresses are so friendly... and the PIE.. TO DIE FOR!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast, ate here twice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family and I had breakfast at V.I. twice during our first stay in St. Augustine. The service was good and fast and the food was good also. The only issue I had was that we were sat twice under where a ceiling tile was missing and water was leaking from AC condensation. We just moved the table over about 2 feet and everything was fine. The hostess and waitress remembered us which was a nice personal touch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.