We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tribute to obscure fort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Mose

Fort Mose
Saint Augustine, FL
904 823 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort is the first sanctioned settlement of black people in the U.S.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
639 reviews 639 reviews
509 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Nice tribute to obscure fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This little known place in history is a very good place to visit.Located 2 miles north of downtown-it's easy to find.very good display markers tell the history of location. Very fine boardwalk allows views of where fort once stood. Museum has well presented artifacts and audio history recordings. A very well done center. this is an excellent place for history buffs. there is a small admission fee. Also the intro film is very informative.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of history here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

If you love history this would be a freat place to visit. I enjoyed learning irs history and it started and ended. I was upset there was no ruin or anything like that to show where the Fort was so you have no idea if it was even there. Thats what disappointed me the most.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We learned quite a bit about the history of St Augustine. The guide was helpful, bathrooms clean, grounds beautiful.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It was informative and interesting to learn the history of Fort Mose. More than we expected and very enlightening.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Gem of America history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

One of the primary reasons for me visiting St. Augustine was to visit Fort Mose. When I first came in 2004, there was an exhibit at Castillo de San Marcos. I was glad to hear that the area of the original fort now had an interpretive center.
The walk up to the center have plaques the give info about the fort and the people who lived there.
The interpretive center is small and you can do it within a hour. They also show a short 15 minute film. Certain times of the month they have interpretive of the life in Fort Mose.
This is a vital part of America history that so few people are aware of. Slaves from the American colonies were offered sanctuary by the Spanish. By becoming Catholic and maintaining the fort, they would be citizens and free.
This was the very first Underground railroad for slaves in the colonies. Also, the majority of the people living at Fort Mose were African and only a small percentage was American born.
If you are in the St. Augustine area, make Fort Mose a stop to view history and honor those who wanted to be free

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mose also viewed

 
Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Fort Mose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Mose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.