We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another gem in this city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Museum

The Lightner Museum
75 King Street, P.O. Box 334, Saint Augustine, FL 32085
904-824-2874
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Lightner Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$26*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Antiquing, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago publisher Otto C. Lightner opened this museum which features items of Victoriana, as well as a stained glass room by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
Gainesville, florida
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Another gem in this city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

For years, we had no idea that this museum was even there! After doing some historical research, I found it. Nestled in a building built by Henry flaglar as the Alcatraz Hotel in its hey day is this unbelievable museum.
From the authentic period piece furniture to the crystal and glassware and the Tiffany stained glass it is simply a different world that you really need to see to believe it.
For me, one of the best things that they did was place vintage photos in the hotel areas in the places where they actually were when it was a hotel. It is really amazing and I always see something I didn't the time before.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    274
    109
    26
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The Guilded Age's other Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Located in the old Alcazar Hotel- directly across from Flagler College, The museum holds a number of old world artifacts from a seemingly forgotten time in America. We especially enjoyed seeing the old swimming pool- which at one time was the largest swimming facility in America. Take time to enjoy the koi pond, formal garden, and the courtyard at the Alcazar- it's well worth the trip!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL COLLECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

a must-see for those interested in a collection of art, lamps and furnishings from the late 1800's. The building is also lovely to view inside and outside. Grounds are all decorated for December as is the whole of the town.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The whole building and displays are great. At 11am there is a demonstraion of the old musical instruments - not to be missed

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“An old-fashioned museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I was really bored by this place. There were small collections of things (8 glass hats; 13 pipes; 3 crowns) etc. Pretty much laid out there with nothing else going on. A room of automated musical instruments that play a couple of times a day (if you have been to House on the Rock, this is nothing!). I would have been more interested to see what the hotel was like 100 years ago, since this museum used to be a Henry Flagler hotel-- and there were a few pictures here and there showing the hotel, which were for me the most interesting parts. But mostly it was porcelain bowls, porcelain figurines, etc. etc. And whatever you do, don't take kids!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lightner Museum also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Lightner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lightner Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.