We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Train Tours

Red Train Tours
170 San Marco Ave., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-829-6545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 132 Activities in Saint Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy more options at a better price than anywhere else in St. Augustine! We offer one day, three day and five day passes and have recently added a "Once around" tour if you are pressed for time. We offer an award-winning 80 – 90 minute, fully narrated historical tour of the Nation’s Oldest City. Our “open-air” Sightseeing Trains cover over 7 miles and visit dozens of historic sites. Our Sightseeing Train tours begin every 20 minutes beginning at 8:30 am. Guests may get on and off at over 20 locations and enjoy free parking at our Ripley owned ticket locations. All guests receive free on-demand shuttle service to and from area hotels, free shuttle service to the Alligator Farm and the St. Augustine Lighthouse with tickets, and $1 passes to “Bayfront Mini-Golf”.
Corinth, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The trains do not run on time, so you spend an inordinate amount of time waiting for them to arrive. And they spend much time trying to talk you into going to Ripley's Believe it or Not and the ghost tours. The guide was informative, but would tell us that he would get back to a subject and then never get back to it. You are better off with a guide book and walking shoes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    84
    18
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Red Train ride through St. Augustine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a 3-day pass for the trains as part of a combo deal with admission to Ripley's and some other attractions. We were able to keep our car parked at our hotel and ride the train all over town. It was very easy to use. My only complaint is that we wanted a map that showed the route and the direction that the train travels so we could plan where to hop on and hop off, and they wanted to charge us $3 for the map! After paying over $100 for the tickets (which did include other things), it seemed a bit silly to be charged $3 for their train map. We declined, but we did suffer for it, as the train makes a loop at the north end that we could have avoided by jumping on at another nearby location. Oh well! The tour guides are very friendly and give an engaging tour of the town. Note: the trains only run from 9a-4:30p/5:00p, so you cannot use this 'public transportation' for your dinner or nighttime plans!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for riding the Red Trains and for posting such a nice review! While we do charge $3 if you would like a souvenir guidebook, we do have free maps in all of our brochures. Thank you so much for riding with us. We do realize that there are other options in town and we greatly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Tour. Can use as publice transport and save on parking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I liked this Tour better that the Old Town Trolley (did that on my last visit). The guides are very informative and keep you involved. We got the three day pass for around $53 per person. My daughter is 2 yrs old and was free. This also gives you the pass to Ripley's Museum, Ghost train & mini golf. For three days we utilised it as the publice transport and saved on parking ($10 per day). The ride is smooth. We had a flat tire and the train was changed immediately. using this tickets the vehicle can be parked at the ripley's museum right in the centre of everything. The only issue that we had is that they stop their hop on & off services around 4 pm and the wait time in between the trains is 20-25 mins. Would highly recommend it. The lady at the center near the George street was very nice and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ripley's Red Trains and for writing such a nice review. We realize that there are other options in town and we are glad that you took advantage of our $22.99 three day pass! We realize that there are other options in St. Augustine and we are so glad that you decided to ride with us. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is the way to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had two days in Saint Augustine and decided to ride the RED TRAIN TOURS. What a treat! The price was reasonable; the tour operator was knowledgable and you had the opportunity to get off and back on the train at any of their stops. I decided to get off the train at about 4-5 stops. I didn't have a long wait when I decided to board the train again. The weather turned a bit wet and the tour operator provided us all with rain ponchos so we could continue the tour in comfort. I would definitely plan on doing this agan.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great overview of city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was our first visit to St. Augustine and Kevin, our driver/guide, was full of interesting tidbits about the city. It's a good way to see the major sites of the city in about an hour and a half. If you want, you can get on and off at numerous stops within the city. It was a couple of dollars cheaper per person than the other trolley company.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ripley's Red Trains and for writing such a nice review. We realize that there are other options in town and I am glad that you enjoyed what we had to offer. I shared your review with Kevin and he was so glad that you enjoyed the tour as much as he enjoys giving them! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Train Tours also viewed

 

Been to Red Train Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Train Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.