We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Train Tours

Red Train Tours
170 San Marco Ave., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-829-6545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 103 activities in Saint Augustine
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy more options at a better price than anywhere else in St. Augustine! We offer one day, three day and five day passes and have recently added a "Once around" tour if you are pressed for time. We offer an award-winning 80 – 90 minute, fully narrated historical tour of the Nation’s Oldest City. Our “open-air” Sightseeing Trains cover over 7 miles and visit dozens of historic sites. Our Sightseeing Train tours begin every 20 minutes beginning at 8:30 am. Guests may get on and off at over 20 locations and enjoy free parking at our Ripley owned ticket locations. All guests receive free on-demand shuttle service to and from area hotels, free shuttle service to the Alligator Farm and the St. Augustine Lighthouse with tickets, and $1 passes to “Bayfront Mini-Golf”.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Felt that the driver was knowledgeable of the area, even when we had to bypass part of our route due to a traffic accident. We saved a lot of walking and learned history related to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for sharing such a wonderful reveiw. We are so glad that you decided to make us a part of your visit to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    64
    17
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Night of Lights trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After living in the area for over 12 years, I finally took my visiting son and husband to view the lights of St. Augustine during the holidays. Parking at the Ripley's was free, and buying tickets and catching the trolley was very convenient. Our driver had Christmas/holiday music playing after the New Year's - which was not a crowded situation at all. Each one of us had glasses that made reindeer faces out of the lights - and we could move them from side to side to make them keep time with the music. We went on a Tuesday night (it was New Year's Day) and it proved to be a great choice because not much traffic to deal with on the streets. Afterwards we walked the streets to view the lights up close. Overall this was a very good experience and well worth the money. My elderly mother is coming and we are considering taking her on it. If you have a stadium seating pad, bring it for the ride to be more comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your Nights of Lights tour! Thank you so much for choosing the Red Trains for your lights tour and for posting such a wonderful review! Happy New Year to you and your family and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, fl
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Red Train Tour helped us maximize our time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our group of 6, ranging from a year and a half to seventy years old, all enjoyed the Red Train Tour. The drivers were all knowledgeable and friendly, and we never had to wait more than 10-15 minutes for the train to come. The first afternoon, we rode for a full loop. This really helped us get a feel for the city and figure out which stops we were most interested in. The next day, we used the train more as a taxi service to ride from one location to the next. All in all, the Red Train Tour was worth the price and helped us to maximize our time in St. Augustine and learn things about the city that we otherwise might have missed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for chosing to make the Red Train Tours part of your visit to St. Augustine and for posting such a wonderful reveiew! We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour. Our staff tries hard to make seeing St. Augustine as easy as possible. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Informative, friendly drivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Buying a pass on the Red Train Tours is a great way to maneuver around St. Augustine where traffic can get backed up and a parking spot very hard to find, especially at Christmas time. Let them do the driving and you can get on and off at convenient stops. Every driver we had was very friendly and very informative. We took the last train of the day and they nicely shuttled us by a van from their last stop to where we wanted to go. We also took the Red Train Night Light Christmas tour and it was great fun. The driver got everyone in the holiday spirit and we sang carols. We passed several other trains on the route and they were also all having a great time singing and shouting Christmas greetings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Red Train tour and for taking our Nights of Lights train. We greatly appreciate your posting such a wonderful review of our services! We realize that there are other options in town for seeing the sights and we are very grateful that you chose our tour and enjoyed it! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They planned our vacation for us basically.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and i came here to pick up our 3 day tickets to ride the train so we wouldn't have to pay parking fees the entire time we were here and with tickets you get discounts in every store you go to. But the best part was they sold all the tickets we wanted right at the booth at a lower rate if you bought them in bulk. We got the train for three days and 5 attractions for $120 and thats for two people. You get tour guides telling you the stories about st. Augustine while riding and we sat and rode the train 2 times over because they were so interesting to listen to. When we come back red train has my money because they put it where their mouth is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for chosing the Red Trains as your way to see St. Augustine! I am so glad that your found our services helpful and that you enjoyed your tour. We do strive to assist our guests as much as possible in order to provide an unforgettable visit to our beautiful city. Thank you again for choosing us and for writing such a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Train Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Train Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Red Train Tours to your Saves list