We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More great history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum

St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum
100 Red Cox Rd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-829-0745
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Change your view of history at the St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum. Enjoy the most breathtaking view in Northeast Florida from the top of our 165 ft. Tall lighthouse tower, built between 1871 and 1874. Visit the historic Victorian-era keepers' house to experience what life was like for the lighthouse keepers and their families. Kids will love exploring the shipyard playground and shaded maritime hammock nature trails. Discover the stories of ancient shipwrecks with our underwater archaeology team on a special guided tour. Or, if you're brave enough, try a Dark of the Moon paranormal tour of the lighthouse after hours! Snacks are available in the keepers' cafe and you can't leave without grabbing a souvenir in our gift shop. For discounts on tours and purchases, ask about our museum memberships!
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“More great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Who can visit St Augustine without visiting the St Augustine Lighthouse and Museum? Lots of history here. It is great to challenge yourself to see if you can make it to the very top and walk out and look at the tremendous view you get from up there. It is well worth the visit to see how the Light-keepers and their families all lived. Not to even mention the fact that it is supposed to be haunted. Take your camera with you, as you never know who else will show up! :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    494
    95
    28
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's a Lot of Steps to the Top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

No elevator so be ready to climb 219 steps through a somewhat narrow, windy and open staircase. If you have Vertigo this is not the attraction for you. The views from the top are beautiful and worth the climb. There are areas along the way to stop and take a break. While your catching your breath read the historical information on the walls.

There is a guide at the top who will be happy to take pictures or answer any questions you have.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omega
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fun thing to do if you visit st augustine ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a fun thing to do if you visit st augustine if you can get past the 219 stairs you can get the best view of st augustine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Interesting Stories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been to the lighthouse several times. The park area is lovely and easy to navigate. Going to the top of the lighthouse provides an awesome view. It is always extremely windy up there but worth the climb. The museum provides a lot of interesting information about the area. Parts of the grounds you can visit without paying a fee.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fans of Lighthouses ... A Must Do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a wonderful day in the Historic section of St. Augustine, and believed a tour guide that the lighthouse would be a quick walk over the bridge! It wasn't! It was quite a long walk - but in the end worth it! Admittedly, this was a Must Do because of Ghost Hunters, but coming from the Great Lakes area, we miss Lighthouses! I was very disappointed to have to pay $10 each for admission, but once I got past that disappointment, we enjoyed ourselves. The buildings are well kept, the photos and history were fascinating, the artifacts were plentiful and interesting. The Lighthouse is beautiful, the climb to the top was easy - and supplemented by a rest spot on each landing. The view from the top is spectacular, the tour guide very friendly and informative. Astounding to think that this is still a functioning facility! On the ground surrounding the Lighthouse, there are nature trails well labeled and provided a wonderful place to relax. In case you are wondering, we did not see any ghosts on this day - but I did walk through an unmistakable cold spot .... Have fun hunting!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.