We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum

St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum
100 Red Cox Rd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-829-0745
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Museums, History Museums
Activities: Leisure education, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our mission as a non-profit historic site and museum is "to preserve, present, interpret and keep alive the stories of the Nation's Oldest Port as symbolized by our working Saint Augustine Lighthouse." Climb 214 steps to the top of the 1875 Lighthouse for a wonderful view of Saint Augustine and the wide, sandy Beaches. Visit the historic keepers' house to see the home of Major William Harn from Philadelphia. Harn commanded his own artillery battery at the Battle of Gettysburg. Walk around the Lighthouse Archaeological Maritime Program Boatworks and boat yard to see small craft under construction and view artifacts from shipwrecks just off shore. Play in our pirate ship play area if you are too small to climb. You can find the many discount coupons in local tour maps and magazine before you come, and when you arrive, ask for the free audio tour, which is available in English and Spanish, and is free with every admission. Ask for information about memberships and discount packages!
Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very interesting and beautiful sight from the top of the Lighthouse! It's 219 steps to the top but well worth it! The people who worked there were very informative and had many stories to tell. The grounds were nice to walk around also.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    428
    82
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced but great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I thought it was overpriced and of course you have to walk up a lot of stairs, but the stairs are wide and, once you get to the top, you have a fabulous view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the visit to the lighthouse. We chose the guided option by paying a little extra to have a real person talk us through our visit. It was very informative and it gave a personal touch to the tour and with the price of the extra fee, we got to see behind the scenes where they are processing artefacts which have been brought up from several ship wrecks. All in all a very enjoayable experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First lighthouse my wife and I have visited. The weather turned bad after we arrived so we weren't able to go outside up at the top but it was still worth the visit. Definitely a workout going all the way to the top. Make sure it is one of your stops while visiting St. Augustine.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Almost touching the clouds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you have the energy, do walk up to the top of this lovely lighthouse for wonderful views. Also visit the gift shop. Well worth the fee and time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum to your Saves list