We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Bite and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Local Hero's Cafe

Local Hero's Cafe
11 Spanish St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3611
904-825-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 484 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hypoluxo, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick Bite and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We needed a place to have a few cocktails and food before a concert. The place was slammed and super busy. Our server was on top of things. Sat us down, gave us menus, and got or drink orders. I had a burger and my wife had the black bean burger both were good.
Definitely will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    11
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casual dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The atmosphere inside the pub was great. Marsha was working behind the bar and was most welcoming. We had more adult refreshments than food, but what we did have was great and enough for the 3 of us. We were in downtown St. Augustine for several hours and decided to go back to Local Heroes where we realized they had a musician playing guitar and singing. His name is Ken and he interacted with us the entire time. We had a few more refreshments and conversation with everyone and took our shuttle back to our hotel. Great place. My sisters and I will definitely be going back again next year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
692 reviews 692 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“great fries!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

good place to have a few drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic. Place had good food we order 6 shrimp accompanie with fry, and The philly which is cheesetake was not very tasty at all. Overall good place to hang out and drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We came here just to stop in for some food after walking around all the shops is St. Augustine. Wow! The food was incredible. Also there was a guy playing the guitar and harmonica that was a hidden gem. The food was well priced as was the beer. It seems like this is a place where locals might frequent but we were not treated any differently even though we had the huge "we are tourists" trolly sticker stuck on our shirts. What was just going to be a stop for lunch turned into a highlight of our honeymoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wish I checked first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Looked at the menu as we waled by, saw 4 vegetarian options, music sounded ok, so we tried it. Wish I checked the reviews, food took FOREVER (and mine was a cold sandwich option) and chips and bread were both stale. Salsa had a weird flavor..
Our waitress was nice, live music was not too bad.. But wish we kept walking...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Hero's Cafe also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Local Hero's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Hero's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.