We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sangrias Wine & Tapas Piano Bar

Sangrias Wine & Tapas Piano Bar
35 Hypolita St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-6602
904-827-1947
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 483 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the Balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have wanted to check out Sangria's the last 4 times I was in St. Augustine and it finally happened this trip. We found a table on the balcony, right on the corner. Great view! The sangria's are fabulous. I had two, both red, both excellent. I was not as impressed with our waitress. I told her I was vegan and asked about a couple dishes on the menu. She looked like a deer in the headlights. Call me crazy, but I feel the staff should have a pretty good idea of what is on the menu. According to her, the owners weren't sure either and the chef was on break, so we ended up ordering the chips and salsa, which was excellent. We also ordered the trio of spreads, which came out with cheese on top.... Not sure how the waitress missed the "Vegan: NO DAIRY" part of our conversation, but I ended up with cheese on my dish. After scraping as much of the cheese off the bread as possible, it ended up being absolutely fantastic. I would go again, but next time I will probably ask to speak to the chef directly rather than sending the message through the staff. Overall, I would highly recommend this bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    68
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Sangria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I grabbed a table on the balcony to relax, get a grea view of St George Street--and watch the traffic walk by as we sipped glasses of white sangrias and listen to live music.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for a Bite and Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I were in St. Augustine this weekend and stopped by Sangrias. What a great decision!

We each ordered one of the dry, red sangrias (Reillys & Authentic) they were both great. Very refreshing with a combination of the dry wines and sweet fruit - just what you want in a sangria.

In addition, we ordered a couple of the small plates. She had the Grilled Shrimp and I had the Seared Tuna, both were very good. The relish/salsa side for each was also very good. We sampled off each others plates, I especially enjoyed the Tuna. It was seared with a blackening seasoning and was outstanding. We both enjoy seared tuna and agreed that, though it was different, the blackening made a great addition.

When you visit St. Augustine, add Sangrias to your list of "must visits". Grab a table on the balcony and enjoy some of the best people watching in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great View and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We sat on the outside balcony and enjoyed a great view of St. George Street and drank a couple pitchers of good sangria! There was live acoustic music which was good too! Service was also good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Average Sangria but fun view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lucked out and got the last seat on 2nd floor "L" shaped balcony. We were on the north side and felt that the trolley noise below (constant trolley bells) and restaurant music speaker right by us way too loud but what great people watching as on a super busy corner. Wait staff incredibly good. My husband was so happy going there that he wanted to go back the next day but since they did not open until 12 pm on weekdays it was not possible as we had to head out of town. Have a feeling that he will have us walking there soon again on our next frequent visit to St. Auggie Doggie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangrias Wine & Tapas Piano Bar also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Sangrias Wine & Tapas Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangrias Wine & Tapas Piano Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.