We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother Daughter 2 Night Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Safety Harbor Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   105 North Bayshore Drive, Safety Harbor, FL 34695   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mother Daughter 2 Night Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me start by saying this is our second time staying at this hotel so I knew what to expect. If you are expecting a nice plush "Spa Resort" this is not the property for you, this is a historical hotel that needs a lot of $$ to restore to her old glory.

We stayed in the Athena Tower which was renovated in the last 3 years I'm told.
We had 2 queen beds, a large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the bay.
The room was very clean and spacious.

I booked the "all inclusive" package which included breakfast,dinner, alcoholic drink of the day, soft drinks coffee ect and a 25 minute spa treatment and use of all spa activities.

All inclusive breakfast we were told the first morning to help ourselves to the continental breakfast buffet. Fruit, cereal, toast, juice. This was disappointing because on our last stay they had a beautiful breakfast buffet and omelet station. We were told that this is now only on Saturday and Sunday mornings.
The second morning we were told our vouchers included the continental buffet plus anything off the menu with an $8.00 value. We wish we had been told that I on day one. :(

Dinner was very nice both nights we chose to eat off of the regular menu rather than the voucher menu. Not because we didn't like the choices but on the first night they offered 3 oz filet and 4 oz lobster for $16.95 our voucher was valued at $13.00 so we paid the difference.
The second night we ordered of the regular menu as well which was pasta made to order.

We did the 25 minute facial which was nice.

We did not use the facilities this year as we made plans off property.

Because I knew what to expect from the hotel it met my expectations but again this is not a luxury spa and resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    182
    111
    97
    66
See reviews for
130
175
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Rooms were outdated, so is the entire hotel. Waterfront property so the view is nice. But other than the view, it might as well have been a motel 6. Well not that bad but definitely not rated as high as it should be. I'd definitely not stay here again. Beware... $16 resort charge even if you don't use any of their facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party. The bed in our room was like sleeping on a sheet of plywood. Most of the staff were rude and disrespectful. This is a historic hotel, but lacks the charm and charisma other historic hotels have. The views are beautiful, and downtown Safety Harbor is a great place to hang out. The plus side of the hotel, the food was very good, and they had great wifi reception. Just don't expect a comfortable bed to sleep in and you can expect the staff to be nasty. I watched the night desk man Bob threaten a couple of hotel guest to call the police because they were kissing on the bench in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party. We were told, by the events coordinator, that we could have our rehearsal dinner on the pool deck, and then informed by the pool bar staff that this was not allowed. As we tried to determine a secondary plan, another employee of the pool bar approached us and told us that we needed to move. After reminding her that we were aware, and were attempting to determine where we could comfortably move 30 people and a buffet of food, her comment was, "I hope that you are not being nasty to me". She then proceeded to complain to other employees at the bar, in front of other guests and me, to the point that the manager stepped over to her and told her it was not professional to complain in front of guests and he asked her to stop-twice.

The manager's response to our issue was to move us to a "closed" bar in the hotel, promising there were games and other activities. The juke box did not work, the dart board did not work and the pool table did not work. Thank goodness for the foosball...

The hotel is antiquated and though a historical location, it lacks the charm of other historical hotels in the area, such as the Don Cesar. The food was good and the free wi-fi was a bonus, but the bed was horribly uncomfortable, and the bulk of the staff from bartending to management needs some intensive customer service training. Our favorite employee was Bob, at the front desk, who after seeing a friend kiss her husband in the lobby, told them that he was going to call the cops...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I received a gift certificate for the spa so I recently went to get several treatments. Treatments & staff were good. Spa itself was week. My main complain was that there was not 1 lounge chair in the entire spa to put your feet up and relax. If you have been to a decent spa you know they have nice loungers with thick cushions that you relax on with a cold towl over your face or to read. I even asked one of the employees and they said by the pool. The outdoor pool was not relaxing and full of families, not what you want for a relaxing day at the spa. The indoor pook did have 1 1980's type lounge chair and there were puddles of standing water all around the pool that you had to walk threw. The spa also is in need of a face lift. The tile is old and the grout is dirty. The treatment rooms I was in were fine and the employees, products and services offered were good. I also enjoyed the onsite restaurant with a nice lunch with very good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful location, excellent facility! Great staff! Definitely come if you want a bit of peace and quiet along with the chance to do something more. The pool area is popular with the locals who know about the place - it's known but not so well known that it's get super crowded. Except for holiday weekends. Even then they try to limit the crowd so it doesn't get bad.

Excellent fitness and spa facilities. Being in downtown Safety Harbor there are plenty of restaurants and bars to visit. And it reasonably close to Clearwater Beach, maybe a 20-30 minutes drive depending on time of year and traffic.

Very close to the airport - 15-20 minutes tops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at this historic hotel with my daughter. The hotel is in the quite town of Safety Harbour which is a great place for walkers, joggers and cyclists. For what we paid the hotel was great value. It is a favorite for weddings that seem to go on continuously and concurrently at the weekends. The room we had was huge and comfortable and the pool which has a tiki bar was nice. Overall, however, the place could do with some refurbishment and some updated equipment in the gym. Food was okay but overpriced in my opinion. We did not use the spa which is a major part of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safety Harbor Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Address: 105 North Bayshore Drive, Safety Harbor, FL 34695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Safety Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safety Harbor Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine waterfront along Tampa Bay. In addition to the 50,000 square foot spa & fitness center, the resort also offers over 30,000 sqft of flexible meeting and banquet space - perfect for any conference or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Safety Harbor Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safety Harbor Hotel Safety Harbor
Safety Harbor Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safety Harbor Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.