We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a Lobster Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill

Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill
100 Main St., Safety Harbor, FL 34695
(727) 400-4790
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Seafood-rawbar-brews
Safety Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“A great place for a Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lynn and I have been looking forward to trying the new Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill. Today was the day. The restaurant has a somewhat limited menu of interesting seafood items. They offer daily specials like a shrimp salad for $6.00 and daily fresh fish specials. We are both fans of lobster rolls and we thought that this would be a good test of this small restaurant. I have got to say, we were impressed. The Maine lobster rolls are served with drawn butter rather than mayonnaise. We had never had it this way. It was wonderful and it looks like this is going to be an occasional extravagance. Not cheap at $14.50 but certainly worth it. The roll is served with a very nice cold slaw and potato chips. Nice ambiance too..with a nice view of historic Safety Harbor Main Street. Service from the waitress and the restaurant owner was exceptional.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

MY husband and I decided to stop and eat on our evening walk. The food was good but I don't remember it being spectacular. After I try it again I will rate it again if my thoughts change.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place For Friends To Gather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We came in with 8 friends and had a wonderful lunch. Everyone had a great meal...there wasn't an unhappy person in the crowd! Kelly was our waitress and she was fantastic! The chef came out and made sure our daughter was taken care of. Much love for the food, service, and atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice addition...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

To the downtown area. Very reasonable prices for very tasty food. Low key atmosphere, no frills, but six out of six in our party were pleased with their orders which ran the gamut from lobster bits to Cuban sandwich.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Huge Oysters $10/dozen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Don't miss this gem in Safety Harbor. The seafood is unbelievably fresh and inexpensive. Over a weekend, my friend and I ate three meals here and never regretted it. The oysters were enormous, and everything we had (mahi mahi, grouper, shrimp, lobster roll) was cooked perfectly. Great people watching if you get a front table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill also viewed

 
Safety Harbor, FL
 

Been to Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Fly/Saltwater Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.