We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small menu BIG flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Fresh

Southern Fresh
122 3rd Ave. N., Safety Harbor, FL
727-216-6341
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Southern Fresh uses fresh local ingredients to create the most fresh,flavorful food around. Our restaurant is located in beautiful downtown Safety Harbor in an old house that has been converted over to a restaurant. A Southern Fresh guest can choose to dine inside or outside under beautiful live oaks.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small menu BIG flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Don't be deceived by the limited menu at Southern Fresh... Everything on the menu is delicious! The signature fried chicken is juicy and tender and paired perfectly with the creamy mashed potatoes. I've had the pork sandwich which is also awesome. Loved it so much spent a great laid back valentines day there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    27
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best pan fried chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had reservations on June 15 th fathers dat for 6at 6. Out table was read ta server promp with drinks, just beer and wine. The menu is limited, chicken fried and roasted,, fish salmon and a red fish, also a pork dish. Had a tasty shrimp cocktail as an app. All of us had fried chicken that s delicious and juicy. We had the mash potatoes, color greens, green beans and roasted mixed veg. For desert we ordered bananna pudding. All made from scratch and wonderful. There was also a strawberry short cake too. The chicken dinner was $11 with 2 sides. Shrimp $6. I think an excellent value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity fla
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fathers Day with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to this restaurant but the 2 couples we were with were first timers. We all ordered the pan fried chicken and everyone raved about it. I had the mashed potatoes and green beans and the other had the collard greens and/or seasonal vegetables. What an outstanding meal for only $11. Some of us had the banana pudding which was fantastic. Everyone raved about the friendliness and the wonderful food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I met some friends here for lunch on Sunday the 8th of June. We sat outside since the weather was lovely (In Florida, in June?? Very odd!). My husband and I got the Pan Fried Chicken and were not disappointed. It was crispy on the outside and moist and flavorful inside. It was well worth the 25 minute wait. Our friends got the Roast Pork Sandwich and the Grilled Salmon Salad and I must say that the presentation was lovely!!! Everyone of us enjoyed our meal and we will definitely go back. The service was outstanding - I want to say our servers name was Melissa but I honestly can't remember. In any case she was pleasant and courteous and just a very nice young lady!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place tucked away in safety harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is such a great place. We thought we would give it a try on one of the 3rd Fridays. The food is fantastic, the white sangria is so yummy. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Fresh also viewed

 

Been to Southern Fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Fresh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.