We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time A Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapping The Vine

Tapping The Vine
737 Main St, Suite 100, Safety Harbor, FL 34695
+1 727-330-7514
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Safety Harbor
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American, Tapas, Eclectic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Time A Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and i made an unplanned stop at Tapping the Vine last night. Very cozy. Impressive wine and beer list. Engaging and knowledgeable waiter (thanks Lee). And, terrific tapas. Will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTVSafetyHarbor, Owner at Tapping The Vine, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear DRiley44
Thanks so much for stopping by and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for complimenting Lee; we love him too. Hope to see you again soon.
HowardL, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were a little disappointed when we first saw that this was primarily a tapas menu, but decided to try it out anyway. We had good service, the food was very good and the waiter was extremely knowledgeable regarding the menu, the wine and the craft beer offerings. We'll go back when we're in that neck of the woods again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTVSafetyHarbor, Owner at Tapping The Vine, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear PapaSal
Thank you for stopping in to see us; we're glad you enjoyed your visit.
We are very grateful for your compliments and hope you and your family have a safe and happy Holiday Season.
From all of our team in Safety Harbor, we wish you a Merry Christmas, with good health and prosperity for 2014.
Howard L
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slow service and terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Have tried this place now three times as the first two times weren't great but was willing to try it again. The service each time is slow and ponderous. Have to wait forever to get the tab has been the norm and the food so-so. This last time the food was horrific. After seeing three tables get their food before us I chalked it up to the previous two times. But the food this last time was really bad. The buffalo shrimp was cold and the potato dish also cold as a trout pulled out of a northern Canada River. I tried really hard to eat it but it was bad. By far the worst meal in 10 years. Won't go back and will make sure everyone of my friends in the area and work for the city will know about it. Never once did the waiter explain the slow service and the substandard food. They should not be open for a 3 rd Friday event as they can't handle any volume of patrons and the food really bad. The asparagus soup was for sure right from a Campbell's Soup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTVSafetyHarbor, Owner at Tapping The Vine, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Tim, thank you for visiting our restaurant. We are confused by your comments on TripAdvisor, since they contradict what you told us in person that evening. It is true you did not enjoy our “potato dish” (gnocchi), but you and both your guests complimented us on the custom ordered shrimp and soup, even cleaned the plate and bowl. From the time you got your last food item to receiving your tab was about 15 minutes. You left a reasonable tip and seemed to enjoy the time you spent with us. We treat all our guests with respect and integrity and are wondering why you wrote this.

HowardL, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stopped in to try them out on a Friday evening and wanted to eat inside. The place had plenty of outdoor tables open, two or three indoors and not one person at the bar.

We were told that they had no help that night and it would be a while before we could sit down at a table. We asked if we could enjoy a glass of wine ate the bar and the help laughed and said no, not kidding, you cannot even get a glass of wine at the bar without an extended wait for it.

So instead of giving in to the poor service and attitude we left. NEVER to return here again.

Much better ways to handle the situation but apparently the management was either absent or just as lame as the help.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTVSafetyHarbor, Owner at Tapping The Vine, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear GulfCoastGuy,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. I see you visited Safety Harbor on “3rd Friday”, the City’s - and our - busiest day of the month. Yes, we were very short staffed that particular evening. I am sorry we were not able to deliver our usual standard of service to you and some other visitors because of it. I had planned to keep our inside dining room closed, being short staffed, until we had an unexpected arrival of a party of 20 (a traveling group of family and friends with children). They had been walking the street – trying to find somewhere that could accommodate them. As some of their party was elderly and disabled, needing to escape the heat, I gladly said yes to accommodate them when no one else could. We opened the inside dining room to them. At that point, I chose to instruct my team to advise new (incoming) guests we would be unable to serve them for a long time. I think it is very poor practice to seat guests at empty tables knowing you will not serve them promptly. This also strains service to customers who are already seated. I was on hand, probably assisting in the kitchen.
HowardL, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We picked Tapping The Vine based on the tripadvisor ratings. We moved into the area 2 years ago and it was our anniversary, so we wanted a quaint place with excellent food. We thought that being a Monday, it would probably be pretty quiet. We were seated inside and in the front room with only 3 tables. A bit tight but overall had that quaint feel to it. They had a large party that came in that evening and took the large room in the back. They were very busy! Under the circumstances, the service was good. We had the crab cakes with a sauce that was typical but good. The Panini with apples, prosciutto and honey was different and very good. My husband ordered the Seared Scallops and while they tasted fresh, they didn't have much flavor. I asked the waitress for her opinion on selecting Seafood Angel Hair or Beef Tenderloin and she enthusiastically recommended the Beef. We were convinced the beef had been broiled, there didn't seem to be much if any Madeira Sauce, the tiny bit of vegetables had little flavor...

Overall, we were disappointed since they are rated as #3 we expected to have a wonderful meal. Perhaps just an off night for them since they were so busy, but we probably won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTVSafetyHarbor, Owner at Tapping The Vine, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Donna B,
Thank you very much for your review and for your visit. Laura – your server - recalls your visit, your beer and wine choices, and where you were seated in the “wine room”. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your second dishes and would have gladly replaced them, after the first couple of bites.
Some of our dishes – such as the crab cakes and panini you enjoyed - have powerful flavors. These can often make other foods seem mild. Perhaps we should have recommended eating the dishes in reverse order. Our scallops recipe has no additional seasonings or salt added
Howard L, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapping The Vine also viewed

 

Been to Tapping The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapping The Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.