We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever eat somewhere you wish you hadn't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
102 Commercial Drive, Ruskin, FL 33573
(813) 634-9940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Ruskin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Ever eat somewhere you wish you hadn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the second time in a year I have visited this location. Both times, I was disappointed. Needing a fast breakfast and not interested in drive-through, I thought to try this location again. Ordered a veggie omelet, hashbrowns, and a biscuit. The omelet was flat - is it possible that the eggs were pre-prepared and then reheated when a customer ordered certain 'toppings". Anyway, that's what it was like, the eggs were flat, not fluffy. Mentioned it to the server, she said it had just been prepared and would I like it reheated. I declined on reheating an omelet as I was pretty sure it had already been reheated. Plus there was absolutely NO SALT or seasoning. This was the most bland food item I have ever tasted. The omelet was served with about a ladle of diced tomatoes which made it soggy as well. The hashbrowns were ok but again not a trace of any seasoning. The salsa which I ordered to cover that omelet for flavor had an underlying odd taste, maybe slightly metallic? It also had little flavor other than tomato, which it was probably jarred or canned. Maybe that is where the metallic taste came from.
On the other hand, service was great, almost too great. Any waitstaff or hostess wandering by, which they did often, asked if I needed anything. I didn't mention anything else about my food since the one offer to fix the omelet was just to reheat it.
I won't be back and that's too bad as I usually enjoy breakfast at Bob Evans.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    6
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Bob Evans was a wonderful experice I took my 5 year old for her birthday its her favorite place to go we were a party of 6 me and my husband we our 4 kids our server Brenda was just excalent she took care of us. She was very pleasent and fast for it being a busy Saturday she made our visit wonderful she also was very careful handling hot plates for our kids gave us refils without being ask... The food was very hot and even though it took a awhile she made sure our drinks and bread were fill I recommend this place to any family what a wonderful experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Quintessential Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

At this location this chain restaurant serves a clientele of mostly senior citizens, and its food is perfect for them. Meat and potatoes, soup, salads, sandwiches, breakfast standards, all prepared nicely and served in a most friendly manner. No ethnic cuisine, no spicy stuff, just the essence of comfort food in a pleasant setting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really good food and service.... unlike most chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had breakfast here twice last week. Both experiences were above average. The place is clean and the service was excellent. The food came out fast and hot and was a good value. The manager on duty was checking with everyone about their food and service. Overall the team seemed to be very organized. I would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Big menu all prepared well. A little crowded, so expect a wait during prime time. Wait staff was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.