We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CLEAN STOPOVER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruskin Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruskin Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3113 College Ave. East, Ruskin, FL 33570 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ruskin/Sun City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
ELY CAMBRIDGE UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GOOD CLEAN STOPOVER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for a one night stopover on our three week trip to discover the "real" Florida. Staff were helpful and friendly and the room and entrance were clean and very acceptable. The breakfast was on the basis side but adequate. A good value, convenient and clean place for a stop over. Bob Eans restaurant (two m inutes by car) proved very acceptable but busy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
7
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The staff was friendly, that was the only good thing about this place. One of the most important thing about a hotel is how clean it is. This hotel did not measure up. The pillowcases on both beds had stains on them. I don't mean just a spot or two. It looked as if they needed to be tossed out and replaced. They were suppose to be white, but all in the center on both sides were largely stained, and you could see what I am guessing is mascara marks also. The breakfast in the morning was also bad - english muffins, 3 types of bread, dried out cold eggs and Gravy with sausage that looked really bad. There was one biscuit. You had to go to the lobby to get coffee. Granted not that far, but come on now. You could pay the same price and stay at a the quality inn, comfort inn and get a nice clean room and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, N.Y.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at the Ruskin Inn on Dec 3, 2011 for one night (Room #303). The front desk team assisted us with our early arrival and they were able to get us a king size bed. While the complementary breakfast is basic (cheese omelete, muffins, toast, orange juice coffee), it was all we needed to get an early start. There was also a coffee maker in the room, which made a quick cup of coffee. We spilled something on the plane and needed to wash clothers, the coin-op washer and dryer was very convenient, soap and dryer sheets can be purchased at the front desk. Our room had an older TV, the picture tube was a little fuzzy so a flat screen upgrade might be needed soon. Dogs under 16 lbs are permitted. Overall, relative to the very reasonable price for the room, I think it a great place for a quick stay.

One quick note on dining in Ruskin. The immediate area does not seem to have any good restaurants, mostly chains (e.g., Bob Evans) or fast food (McD, Burger King). Someone had suggested Sonny's BBQ, which was just OK, assuming you want chicken & ribs dishes or their salad bar. There was also an Italian Restuarant that was rumored to be worthwhile, but we could not locate it. I think a short drive out of Ruskin could easily improve your dining experiences.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff! Free breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just spent two nights at this inn and we were very pleased with our choice. Great value, clean comfortable rooms and friendly front of house staff, in particular Feank who gave is information about places to eat & visit locally. A great place to stop off on your travels.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We have stayed here when we visit nearby family. In general, it is a hotel in need of an update and some freshening up.- that's the cosmetics. Green bananas and less than mediocre breakfast, that's the food. Some of the staff are OK, but there is a fellow there at the front desk that must have missed the class on customer service training and can be indifferent at best, and downright condescending and rude. We had a reservation/charge mix up and he was less than helpful and became belligerent when he should have been helping unravel the problem. Won't be going there again, as you can get mediocre anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Ruskin, it was a pretty good experience, but we did have a few problems. The first day/night was good, although our toilet stopped up, and continued to stop up during our stay. The first day breakfast was awesome, the second day there was nothing hot to eat, there had been bacon and eggs, but both were empty and this was around 8:20am, so it was no where near the time to close the breakfast. At one of the tables, there were 4 women, that appeared to be the employees of hotel, with plates full of bacon. There was also no place to sit. Other than that the place was very clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful and very polite. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, but please fix the plumbing situation, and make sure you fill up the hot food when it is empty.

Stayed January 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager33570, General Manager at Ruskin Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments. A review of your stay was conducted and indeed, the hotel had a plumbing issue that was due to a county main line breaking. It was repaired, but unfortunately did affect our guest's use of of their toilets. I also must apologize for the breakfast issue which has been addressed and corrected. We strive for our guests to enjoy their stay and be very happy with the services we offer. When a guest does bring to our attention any issue that needs improvement, it only improves this goal. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruskin Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Inn Hotel

Address: 3113 College Ave. East, Ruskin, FL 33570 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ruskin/Sun City)
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruskin Inn Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ruskin Inn, Ruskin near Sun City Center. Our tastefully appointed guestrooms offer our guests a relaxing stay while visiting the Bay Area. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, in room coffee maker, iron and board, AM-FM alarm clock radio and over 70 channel cable television with free HBO. Our hotel is within thirty minutes of downtown Tampa, Bradenton and the sandy shores of St. Petersburg beach. Let our staff pamper you while visiting. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ruskin Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Inn Tampa Sun City Hotel Ruskin
Holiday Inn Ruskin
Ruskin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ruskin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruskin Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.