We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Little Roadside Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
1902 W Shell Point Rd, Ruskin, FL 33570
813 641-9451
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Port Huron, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neat Little Roadside Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a nice place to grab a quick lunch and very good. I had catfish and grits. Prices seemed average. The downside is that they are only open later in the week.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Picnic tables and fried seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Fish shack outdoor picnic table seating. Bring your own beer/wine. Everything is fried. We had the catfish. Pretty good, but no hush puppies or okra. Nice laid back, Florida country style setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellant Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Was down to see my parents a Hawaiian Isle RV Resort, and they suggested this place to eat.
The fish was fresh and awsome. I dont eat alot of fish and found this very much to my likeing.
If you are in the area you must try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outdoor Shack--Good Fish--Fair Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you don't care about comfortable seating and atmosphere and want good fried seafood at a very fair price this is your place. Shared picnic tables, and very rustic, but I loved the basic fish dinner. They offer a large version for about $3 more--I struggled to finish the basic one--I thought the portions were generous. Wife had the combo fish and scallops and it was great too. We will return for the fish soon! I saw someone posted fish basket for $20?? This is false--the menu is posted on line, and my fish basket was $10.19, so not correct to say pricey--we think the opposite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“PRICEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We passed by this little "shack" while staying at the Little Harbor Resort. We figured that from the looks and how busy it was it was probably an awesome place to eat. The food was good, but the grouper sandwiches we got had 3 little tiny filets on a bun...not really what we expected for the price. Needless to say we didn't return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.