We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
1902 W Shell Point Rd, Ruskin, FL 33570
813 641-9451
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellant Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Was down to see my parents a Hawaiian Isle RV Resort, and they suggested this place to eat.
The fish was fresh and awsome. I dont eat alot of fish and found this very much to my likeing.
If you are in the area you must try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outdoor Shack--Good Fish--Fair Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you don't care about comfortable seating and atmosphere and want good fried seafood at a very fair price this is your place. Shared picnic tables, and very rustic, but I loved the basic fish dinner. They offer a large version for about $3 more--I struggled to finish the basic one--I thought the portions were generous. Wife had the combo fish and scallops and it was great too. We will return for the fish soon! I saw someone posted fish basket for $20?? This is false--the menu is posted on line, and my fish basket was $10.19, so not correct to say pricey--we think the opposite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“PRICEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We passed by this little "shack" while staying at the Little Harbor Resort. We figured that from the looks and how busy it was it was probably an awesome place to eat. The food was good, but the grouper sandwiches we got had 3 little tiny filets on a bun...not really what we expected for the price. Needless to say we didn't return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh fish with outdoor simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Enjoy eating fresh fish at a picnic table? The Fish House in Ruskin off Shell Point Rd on the way to Little Harbor is a gem of a find. Fresh fish and seafood - served with a light batter which we like - is offered here. Has seasonal specials. Order at the window and dine at picnic tables on your own or make friends. Frequented by locals and snow birds alike. Limited hours during the week. Cost for meals is not cheap, but reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not much going on here...full of snow birds that have more money to blow then me. Nothing special. Fried fish basket for $20!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.