We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an older hotel that has been remodeled, but a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Save Saved
You added The Resort & Club at Little Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort & Club at Little Harbor
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
Beecher, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is an older hotel that has been remodeled, but a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

There are some things that you just have to except with an older building, but the remodel on the rooms was nice. I has a King Suite for an excellent price and the room was really spacious. I had a harbor facing view which was beautiful. There are a ton of amenities but unfortunately I didn't have the time to take advantage of all of them due to traveling on business. The only negative is that the workout facility was rather dirty but in all fairness I went at the end of the day. You would pay a lot more elsewhere for this "resort" type of atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was all work and no play, we hope that you will come back and see us for some relaxation and to enjoy the amenities that the resort has to offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and had a great view - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    151
    62
    32
    34
See reviews for
152
149
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed in a suite/condo at Little Harbor. No matter the floor plan, and there are several from studios to two bedrooms, there's plenty of space, two televisions, full or partial kitchens, and balconies. If you can, get a waterfront unit...the views and sunsets are spectacular. There's a pool, marina, restaurant and tiki bar. The service has always been warm and accommodating from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Don't let the location put you off; it's a bit 'out there' but it gives you access to the entire central gulf coast...half way in between Tampa & Sarasota, not far from Brandon and very close to Sun City Center. If there's any downside, it's that the units could use some updating...carpeting needs to be replaced and in our last stay the TV remotes were literally worn out. We consider those issues minor and look forward to staying at Little Harbor whenever we're working/visiting in the area.

Room Tip: Water view rooms provide lovely views of Tampa Bay and the setting sun. Try for a higher floor to el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so happy that you have enjoyed yet another stay at the resort, we thank you for your kind words and will continue to offer all that we can so that our guests enjoy their stays. You will be pleased to know that our carpeting project starts this month and I have mentioned to our team to check and replace remotes. We truly do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Enjoyed the private beach and watching the boats! Clean rooms with lovely views. Perfect get-away for romance, family fun or to write a book and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

highly recommend. excellent resort. high quality. very nice clean room. very friendly staff. Great security. We fished off of the pier and the kids loved it. The sunset was beautiful. A lot of fishing charters to choose from if you would like to go out with a guide. We saw manatees and dolphins very close to shore in the natural habitat. I very highly recommend. Christine was very accomodating. Thank you for a wonderful get a way.

Room Tip: harborside by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Lynda
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation getaway. It is always so nice to hear that our staff have met our guests expectations and that you were able to enjoy all the resort has to offer including the fantastic fishing. I do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Nancy Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in the Harborside Suites portion of the resort in an 2-story 3bdr/3 bath unit for one week in early April. The resort was booked to capacity, thus our check-in was delayed. After driving 1100 miles to get there, our family (5 adults and a one year old) were tired and cranky, so this was an inconvenience we brought up to the resort staff. We were compensated with 6 free drinks for use at their restaurant or tiki bar. We were extremely impressed with the accommodations overall. There was one bedroom/bath on the main level, along with the kitchen, living/dining area, and a balcony. The upstairs had 2 bedrooms/baths and a balcony attached to one of the bedrooms. The unit was decently stocked with basic utensils/cookware and some (not many) toiletries/soaps/etc. Our only complaint was the carpet-it had seen better days no doubt. With how often we were coming in/out to/from the beach and pool it's no wonder the carpet wears quickly, as I'm sure most of the unit's users are doing the same.If you are booking in the harborside suites, do your best to request and score a "harbor view." We were lucky enough to get a top floor unit with this view and I am sure it added 1 star to my rating, at least.

The location (Ruskin, FL) is a pretty desolate area by vacation standards, no doubt. Shame on those reviewers who took points off of the resort for this, though. Do your research ahead of time (pinpoint Ruskin on a map, for example) and you will find yourself aware of this issue and you can then choose not to book your stay here. We took day trips to Clearwater and St. Petersburg. The drive to each took about 40 minutes. There is a SuperWalmart about 15 minutes away, but other grocery stores and fast food are a tad closer than that.

The beach left much to be desired. Had it not been for our great accommodations, I would have downgraded my rating to 3 stars because of this. It was private and not too crowded; however there were VERY FEW chair/umbrellas available for set-up and the water was slightly murky. If you're looking for good swimming/ocean-like waters....head to St. Pete's or Clearwater. The pool closest to our unit on the other hand was GREAT. Water was decently warm, there was a hot tub, plenty of lounge chairs/umbrellas, and a communal gas grill and nice seating area too.

We ate dinner at the restaurant (Sunset Grille) once. Food was a bit pricey, but very good. We had appetizers and drinks at the Tiki Bar a few times. Excellent Mai Tais and reasonably priced. Plus the view was awesome for sunsets. The atmosphere did get a little rowdy though, especially on the weekends.

Overall, a great place for families. The crowd was generally senior citizens and families with young children (we went while most schools were in session, after the Easter holiday). The rowdiness at the bar area was due to the fact that it isn't a private establishment. It seems the locals do congregate there to blow off some steam...but this only seemed to happen on the weekends after 7pm. My advice: request a harbor view and stop at the grocery store (so you can cook a majority of meals in the unit). This place worked out great for us, as our son is still so young that a pool and beach was all he needed to be entertained for the week!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our accommodations met your needs and expectations, the view from the upper floor units is amazing especially at Sunset!
You will be thrilled to hear that we are in the process of ordering new carpets and also adding additional chairs and umbrellas on our beach, our guests comments are extremely important to us and we strive to turn any negative to a positive.
We do hope you will visit us again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were very impressed with this resort & the townhouse we rented for two weeks in April was awesome. It was very clean, two story, three bedroom which we shared with one other couple. The beach was OK but the water wasn't the clearest but we had a car rental so went to other beaches & toured around Florida. We used the pool which was never too busy. The resturant was good & the Tiki beach bar was always busy. Our biggest downfall was we didn't have a barbecue & they don't have enough chairs & unbrella's on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation within one of our townhomes, they are great units especially when sharing with friends or family.
Sadly the waters of Tampa Bay are not the Aqua blue that you find on the gulf beaches however they are only 30 minutes away, glad that you were able to see some of Florida's beautiful west coast.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn side of Little Harbor and were very satisfied with the accomodations. Our room was very clean, though our maid never showed up to make up our room on Sunday. However, she was there every other day and the room was always clean. The Tiki Bar is great, good food, good people and great entertainment. We even got to witness 2 weddings which was a fun thing to see! There are 3 pools and hot tubs on the property and they are kept very clean. I would recommend this hotel except for its location. It is in Ruskin, FL which is approximately an hour from Tampa airport - really an easy ride, but a bit out of the way. However, Hard Rock Casino is a mere 20 minutes from the resort so if you're a casino person, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had some great times at the Tiki bar. We have spoken with housekeeping with regards to them missing service for you on one of the nights of your stay, our new housekeeping manager is watching this carefully, to ensure all guests needs are taken care of.
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort & Club at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Address: 611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort & Club at Little Harbor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Resort & Club at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.