We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in one of the Townhouses at The Resort & Club at Little Harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Save Saved
You added The Resort & Club at Little Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort & Club at Little Harbor
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
Elmsdale, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in one of the Townhouses at The Resort & Club at Little Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were very impressed with this resort & the townhouse we rented for two weeks in April was awesome. It was very clean, two story, three bedroom which we shared with one other couple. The beach was OK but the water wasn't the clearest but we had a car rental so went to other beaches & toured around Florida. We used the pool which was never too busy. The resturant was good & the Tiki beach bar was always busy. Our biggest downfall was we didn't have a barbecue & they don't have enough chairs & unbrella's on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation within one of our townhomes, they are great units especially when sharing with friends or family.
Sadly the waters of Tampa Bay are not the Aqua blue that you find on the gulf beaches however they are only 30 minutes away, glad that you were able to see some of Florida's beautiful west coast.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    151
    62
    32
    34
See reviews for
152
149
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn side of Little Harbor and were very satisfied with the accomodations. Our room was very clean, though our maid never showed up to make up our room on Sunday. However, she was there every other day and the room was always clean. The Tiki Bar is great, good food, good people and great entertainment. We even got to witness 2 weddings which was a fun thing to see! There are 3 pools and hot tubs on the property and they are kept very clean. I would recommend this hotel except for its location. It is in Ruskin, FL which is approximately an hour from Tampa airport - really an easy ride, but a bit out of the way. However, Hard Rock Casino is a mere 20 minutes from the resort so if you're a casino person, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had some great times at the Tiki bar. We have spoken with housekeeping with regards to them missing service for you on one of the nights of your stay, our new housekeeping manager is watching this carefully, to ensure all guests needs are taken care of.
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location was tucked away. It had extraordinary views and the beach looked great. The night entertainment was fun and it had a lively crowd. The no see ums ( bugs that bite you) and mosquito's were unbearable. I don't no if this is an on going problem. But its shear torture to get bitten up so badly.. The front desk was great. We were in the event room one of the evenings and even got bit up there. The food was only mediocre for the event we attended. It took so long to get our meals that the evening of dancing was shortened. In the restaurant my sisters scallops were raw at dinner and they waited along time for that. The prime rib was good. My sister was never offered a refund nor did anyone come out to apologize.For the breakfast buffet I waited 10 minutes for someone to make me an omelet at the omelet station. One of the kitchen staff saw me when I walked up to the station and told me " I will get someone for you "I opted for the scrambled eggs as my party was almost done eating without me. I would like to go again in hopes that we just had a bad weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Jamie, thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views across Tampa Bay and soaked up some sun on the beach.
I am afraid that noseeums and mosquitos are quite unfriendly at this time of year in Florida and we have just fogged the resort to keep them as under control as possible.
The restaurant on site is leased by a separate company and I have passed along your comments with regards to your dining and event experience. The entire management team on the resort takes all comments and concerns seriously and will do all that they can to ensure guest satisfaction.
I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay. When we were there this March, they were doing updates to one of the pools and putting in new steps to a building next to the tennis courts. The courts are nice, and my family enjoyed playing tennis every morning. The gym in the resort part of the hotel is nice with up to date equipment, and the pool at the resort part was nice as well! Hot tub was a little small though. Here comes the but!!! Our room in the resort part of the property was nice, with a view of the harbor and St. Pete. The only problem I had with the room and hallways was the rugs needed to be cleaned or replaced. The rest of the room looked very clean. And other reviews have mentioned it already. It's in the middle of nowhere, but in some cases that's a good thing! The staff was very nice to us as well. I would recommend this property more to couples or someone that wants R&R. I would max out at three days if with kids. Not much to do there for kids other than the pool , basketball and tennis. No attractions nearby.

Room Tip: If you want a waterview ask to stay in the resort part not the hotel part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities that the resort has to offer, we pride ourselves on relaxing getaways for our guests.
With regards to the carpets in the hallways and rooms, this summer we will be replacing those items, we are very excited to see the finished product.
We hope to see you if you are in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Resort & Club at Little Harbor on three different occasions. Overall this place is an exceptional value and wonderful place to stay if your looking for a quite beach front Hotel.

This is one slight catch to the place, they have two parts of the Hotel the "Inn side" and the "Harbor Side" there is a notable difference between the two for little price variance. The Harbor side is fantastic and honestly not that much more money. I personally would recommend for a family either the 1 or 2 bedroom suite with the kitchen. The rooms are really charming with plenty of space. The Harbor side also has an outstanding pool and recreation area.

The inn side is not bad, but it's more like a nice Motel 8 vs the Harbor side that actually feels like a high end resort. At least that is how it felt when I once booked the standard room on the inn side and it didn't impress me the way the Harbor side did on the prior stay.

I will say though regardless what side you choose the rest of the resort is beautiful; great views at sunset of St Petersburg across the bay. The pier and beach are wonderful and non-crowded and then there are the two restaurants that both serve up some super yummy food. I highly recommend the brunch in the main restaurant.

The service has always been friendly and accommodating and I have always left happy and relaxed. It's a great place to stay at half the cost of overrated beach hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The harbor side is the better way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our resort. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests are happy with the suites, amenities and grounds of the resort. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent the night when some friends were down and there is a lot of things that makes this place enjoyable. A choice of pools that were great, the waterfront at the bay has a beach and the Sunshine Grille has some great and fancy food. Also there is live music on the weekends that our duo has played at for quite a few years but not lately. Rooms are small but adequate and service is a bit above average. There are condos on the property so I assume they cater to the upper crust a bit more. All in all a nice stay to visit friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort with friends. We do have a host of accommodations available so should you consider staying in the future, our desk agents would be happy to assist you with finding the perfect accommodations to meet your needs. Our two and three bedroom suites are perfect for weekend get togethers. We hope to see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place could be so much better. We stayed on our first night in their hotel rooms. The carpet and bed cover were a disgrace covered in stains. The room was dark and quite dingy. Thank goodness it was only for one night. Then we moved into a three bed, three bath condo opposite the marina. The views were lovely. The condo its self the layout etc was very good, lots of space even for 6 adults. When we looked around we noticed the place was just not clean. The carpet had not been clean from previous guests. The cutlery and crockery had been replaced in the cupboards and not washed properly, All the skirting boards and bannisters were thick with dust and grime, chipped furniture and black marks on the walls. All these things are not acceptable. Little Harbor management need to take a look around their establishment and put all these things right. Starting with housekeeping who need some lessons on how to clean properly.
One evening we decided to go to the Restaurant, we asked what time last orders were served and was told 9.PM so we arrived at about 8.40pm and was greeted by a young man who told us we must be joking coming to dinner at this time of the evening!!!!!! He pasted the seating of our party to someone else. When our server arrived she told us we were to late for the full menu as it was gone 9.pm. When we told her we arrived in time but had been kept waiting by said young man, she went away and came back and we were able to order from the main menu. The food is very good in the Restaurant but once again not as clean as it should be, badly stained carpet etc and a horrible smell of bleach.
One other thing that I thought was not good, the block we stayed in was massive with the smallest swimming pool, not nearly big enough to accommodate a fraction of the people staying within our block.
Would I stay there again NO, they would really have to get their act together for me to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybryant, General Manager at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Please allow me to begin by offering my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you incurred throughout your stay. It seems, that among other things, there are training needs that require immediate attention. Please be assured that the resort management do take all comments and concerns extremely seriously and act upon them.
The resort has recruited a new housekeeping manager and the entire team have been through a retraining. All units are going through a deep clean process and we have just bought new linen for our rooms.
Our restaurant is leased by a separate company but I do apologize on their behalf for your experience, I have passed along your comments to their General Manager.
We are sorry that you stay did not live up to your expectations If the resort is fortunate enough to host you and yours again in the future, please contact me personally so I can ensure nothing but an optimum experience. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort & Club at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Address: 611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort & Club at Little Harbor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Resort & Club at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.