We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort & Club at Little Harbor to your Saves list
The Resort & Club at Little Harbor
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had read all the reviews on this resort, so my expectations were low. But I was very pleasantly surprised.

I was giving my niece, the bride, a shower at the resort on the day of the rehearsal dinner.. I live out of state, so I had to make numerous calls to the resort and the catering office to co-ordinate everything. I was expecting no help from them based on the reviews. But, they were totally accommodating, offering many suggestions, and extremely pleasant each and every time I talked to them.

We arrived to the Resort late at night. But the front desk staff was very friendly checking us in.

After reading the reviews we did choose to stay in the newer condos. The hallways in the condo building were worn, and did not present the best feeling. The condo itself was clean, somewhat dated, but nicely decorated. The cleaning staff was very friendly and accommodating.

After talking to the catering staff I decided to have the shower in the 2 bedroom condo I had rented. It was perfect with the full kitchen, the open concept and the two balconies for people to use, all overlooking the water.

The wedding was on the beach and perfect at sunset. The reception was beautiful and the food was good, the wait staff friendly.

I am sure there is nicer resorts on the water, but I think it would be hard to find one any better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    158
    65
    34
    34
See reviews for
158
157
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The stay was unpleasant and had a number of issues, the biggest one being construction drilling noise in a room right above ours at 9.30 am on a Saturday morning! We came to the resort to escape our own remodeling project for a couple of days and ended up having to deal with their construction. The drilling stopped after we called and complained, but there were still other noises from above. A few other things in the room - no wireless, just one wired connection, which was not enough for our two laptops. Also, a few electrical outlets were broken, so there was not enough outlets to charge our phones/computers, etc. There is only one hot tub for a big resort, which was always full of people due to cooler temperatures so we never got to use it. Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to visit my parents in Sun City, FL, which was a short 10 minute drive away. Nice, quiet place to stay by water. We arrived the night before Thanksgiving and just a few people were there, but by Friday it was filling up. Restaurant had a breakfast buffet and was open for lunch and dinner. There was a nice Tiki Bar, but it did need a few heaters for those chilly nights. We did have to go to a 7-11 to buy coffee. There was a coffee pot but no coffee packets to make any. Kind of bummed about that. I would stay there again, just be more prepared. There are condos that seem to be able to be rented also, for larger families. Also, there is a small beach to use.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the Manatee River and the view was beautiful. There are views that fact the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We used an online discount coupon to make this an affordable getaway. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a kitchenette, but be ready to provide your own garbage bags and paper towels. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant was included with our deal, and the surrounding area has a few great restaurants so we did not use the kitchenette. This small resort is about a half hour drive from St. Pete and Tampa and we spent most of our waking hours away from the quaint little town of Ruskin. The beach looked clean and the harbor view was lovely. I believe there are kayaks to rent and boat rides available during peak season. I would not recommend this as a destination location, but it's a great little respite from the hustle and bustle of the major cities but yet within driving distance. This was our third visit to the little resort. We will be going back agaan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom which was nice except the rug was dirty. Also, he unit was not stocked the way time shares are usually stocked, i.e. it had no coffee filters, no garbage bags and paper towels.
The resort pictures make it look like its on a beautiful beach. However, the water was so dirty I couldn't stand to go in it. Not polluted, actual dirt and when I tried to relax on the sand I got bit by "noseeums". They did have a nice restaurant and Tiki bar.
We made the best of our week there by taking day trips: Sarasota, St, Petes and the Dali Museum in St. Petersburg. We also visited the Frank Loyd Wright buildings at Souther Fl University in Lake land. All of these trips were about 45 minutes to one hour,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a little concerned after reading the recent reviews here, although family have been and stayed at this resort several times and loved it, hence our visit.

Ruskin in general is a pretty quiet, out of the way place, so maybe not the place for you if you are looking for a bit more life. However we were after a relaxing, quiet holiday and thats certainly what we got.

We stayed in one of the large 3 bedroom, self catering suites and also had a studio flat. Both were very clean and well maintained. Very spacious in the big suite with all the equipment you could need. We had the harbor views which I would highly recommend as we saw manatees every day and even a couple of wild dolphins.

The pool and the beach were well kept, the guys down on the beach were always helpful and polite and friendly - making sure you had everything you need - chairs, tables, parasols, water. The food from the restaurant was more than fine.

We absolutely loved our holiday here (there were 7 adults and 1 toddler) and we all would really like to come back!

Room Tip: Harbor views are amazing and worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When we booked our vacation online the pictures of this hotel were great, colorful...What a dissapointment!!! The hotel looks more like a road side motel, the check in staff was very dry and not to friendly. We booked a suite and find out upon checking in that this is only one room with no separation - I travel a lot and suite to me is a bedroom with a separate living area not a room with bed. When we addressed this issue with the front desk they told us that thats what suite is in the so called resort. The bathrooms were horrible and have mold around the tub, shower heads so dirty that water bearly was coming out. The pool was dirty and uninviting, bedspreads in room were never washed, floors dirty and dripping water in the sink. I have't seeing anyone cleaning the pool or the poor and dryed out grounds at all. The restaurant was ok, but the food was undercooked and expensive. Tiki bar was good - that's the only positive. Location is way far from Tampa, stores or any attractions. We regrett that we picked this place for our vacation...don't waist your money and go to Clearwater or St. Petersburg.
As for the staff...please make your customers comfort your TOP PRIORITY! We won't return to this so called "resort" Big joke...

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel and Location - this is not what you see online or on the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort & Club at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort & Club at Little Harbor

Address: 611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort & Club at Little Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Resort & Club at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort & Club at Little Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.