We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST Spanish and Cuban Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ybor Grille

Ybor Grille
105 East Shell Point Road, Ruskin, FL 33570
(813) 641-7300
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Ruskin
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“THE BEST Spanish and Cuban Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ybor Grille is in a small farm/ coastal town and is actually the only restaurant in the area....luckily it is superb. The Cuban sandwiches(thick and luscious) and homemade soups (black bean, caldo gallego) are authentic Tampa. Steaks are juicy. Seafood is fresh and well-presented. If you love , or want to try flavorful Spanish and Cuban dishes(palomillo steak, picadillo, flan, devil crab), Chef Larry is a powerhouse in the kitchen. Wonderful. Decor recently updated..locals appear to love it too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sometimes you just have an off day......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

That's my conclusion (from reading the negative reviews first of course) after dining at this fabulous gem south of Tampa off US 41 in Ruskin. The server (a pretty young Cuban named Daileys) was delightful knowledgable and not at all pushy. So much so she almost let us order diet soda instead of their signature sangria. The pitcher we ordered came out with warm bread and a delicious garlic butter with bits of chopped green olive mixed in. The sangria was excellent and was served with a cinnamon sugar crusted glass rim. Our entrees were amazing! We ordered the special (always a safe bet) and the Cuban steak. The steak came with onions and peppers piled on it with a side of black beans and yellow rice. The steak was tender and juicy and the veggies were sautéed to perfection. The most impressive though was the special. It was shrimp topped grouper with a delicious white sauce all atop a bed of black beans. The sides of fresh veggies, heavy on the broccoli and yellow rice (with peas) was too much for one plate. It was fabulous! It was easy for our pretty young server to convince us to try the flan. This of course after a lesson in the proper Spanish pronunciation of the word prompted by me of course. It was great too. The atmosphere was pleasant and spacious and the parking ample. It appears to be an older renovated house from the outside. It also appears to be a local favorite with many apparent Sun City retirement folks dining. Near our fifties we were decidedly the youngest diners. You should give it a go!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great food, just like the Columbia but a whole lot less expensive. Its not a fancy place, but its clean and the food is great. We always take our visiting friends to experience it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Flavorful, inviting, and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for good Cuban food, don't hesitate to stop at Ybor Grille in Ruskin, Florida. I went there on a recent trip to Florida, and it was an excellent choice!

If you are accustomed to visiting upscale restaurants, this place might not be for you. It's an authentic hole-in-the-wall kind of place with fast and friendly service and very good food. I ordered Cuban pork with yellow rice, and my companion had chicken and yellow rice. We each ordered a crab roll which was like a very large crab-filled hush puppy, and we could easily have shared one.

The server recommended a cup of Caldo Gallego as one of my sides, and this was one of the best soups I have ever had, rich and thick with creamy white beans and chunks of chorizo. I could have had a big bowl of this soup and nothing more and would have been extremely happy. However, we also had delicious Sangria and shared a flan for dessert. Both were good choices.

Servings were generous, and we each left with a big box of rice and meat and enjoyed our left-overs for dinner that night. I heartily and enthusiastically recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No need to drive to Tampa for Cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Authentic Cuban food. This is a local gem. I can't say enough about how good the food is here. Large portions for a great price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ybor Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ybor Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.