We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy Italian = Incredible Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Vito Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria

San Vito Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
431 19th Ave NE, Inside the Village Shops, Ruskin, FL 33570-3615
813-645-5351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Ruskin
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sketchy Italian = Incredible Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Well, the old adage "Don't judge a book by its cover" definitely applies here! This place is housed in a nearly abandoned thrift shop/flea market run by elderly residents of the community. The only reason to go there is for the restaurant! Run by an older Italian couple, this restaurant is INCREDIBLE! Husband cooks, wife takes orders, definitely a diamond in the ruff. I have never had a bad meal here. If you like authentic Italian and can put the sketchy environment to the side, you will not be upset! I make it a point to eat here whenever i'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have eaten there more than 10 times over the last year and a half and have never had a bad meal! If you can get past the funky flea market location then you will discover homemade pastas and breads that are as good as many fine restaurants. The benefit here is the low price. This is one of our favorites and we always bring friends who are visiting!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We ordered take-out pizza for our lunch meeting. I must say that I was surprised at how tasty the pies were. I had two slices of the "everything" and one slice of the "veggie". Let me tell you that this isn't a chain joint with canned ingredients. All of the toppings were fresh and delicious. The crust was thin with just enough chew to it. It had the perfect amount of sauce (not too sloppy) and cheese. Next time we need pizza, my vote will be for this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Cooking in Ruskin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restuarant has the most authentic Italian food you will find outside of Italy and real New York Style pizza.

But what can you expect when the family that owns it and does the cooking is from San Vito, Italy! Yes, mom & dad are in the kitchen cooking!

Everything on the menu is great, but if you like clams, ask for the white or red clam sauce. Not on the menu, so you have to ask. Dad won't serve anything that isn't absolutely fresh!

Friendly service, reasonable prices and generous portions.

This place is a little hard to find as it is located at the end of an old antique mall but well worth the hunt. Look for the awning, red door and a pizza guy statue outside.

Great place for small or large parties. Plenty of tables. You need to make reservations for parties of 6 or more.

This is a must try if you livein or are visting the area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Past closing time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived late on Saturday night into Ruskin. Hunger and good reviews took us to the Red Door. It was after 9pm and we were the only car in the dark lot. We were the only ones left. My wife asked if there was any thing left for takeout. The ovens were OFF. The very nice owners took pity on us and said they could make us some pasta and meatballs. Ok, we'll take two! The meatballs were super! A bottle of wine completed the meal. Thank you, you saved us. We went back two nights later and got a pizza. It was perfect! Thin chewy crusty crust. Perfect sauce and cheese. A delight. This establishment is the REAL Deal. Authentic Italian service, NY style pizza and tastes. The very nicest people. Thanks San Vito and Rosa!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Vito Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to San Vito Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Vito Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.