We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good new york style pizza,but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joia Fabulous Pizza and Martini Bar

Joia Fabulous Pizza and Martini Bar
10475 Gibsonton Drive (at US 301), Riverview, FL 33569
813-677-7171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 107 Restaurants in Riverview
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good new york style pizza,but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

5p-7p happy hour has 2 for 1 martinis of different flavors. calamari apppetizer served with marinara sauce was very good. portobello mushroom new york style pizza had nice thin crust and very good flavor but only a whisper of mushroom (like 5 thin slices for the whole pizza, when I was expecting 5 slices of mushroom on each slice of pizza).friend had lasagna that was half as big as other Italian places. service was very good. restaurant was good for romantic night out, but not for regular visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed our visit from the moment we entered to when we left feeling satisfied and welcome. The building has a nice feel and we loved the music. The staff were so friendly and attentive, we couldn't have asked for more. We were seated in a large booth with high backs, giving you a feeling of privacy. Soon after being seated we were brought fresh hot bread and oil. We were there during "happy hour" so drinks were two for the price of one. The menu was varied and I chose to try the pizza which I enjoyed. One in our party ordered a pasta dish which he said was good but contained a small portion on meat. Another ordered the portabella mushroom burger which was a disappointment, mostly because the bun seemed dried out. Even though some of the food was a bit disappointing, I loved the place and would certainly go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close... but not there yet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First off, the good. The overall ambiance of the restaurant is good. The decor is nice, the lighting (somewhat dim overall) is acceptable, and the backround music selection is well thought out (but a bit loud). The service is responsive.... no complaints there.

But, for a restaurant that is "trying" to be an upscale pizza and martini establishment, there's some glaring issues with their effort. First, I cannot understand how a restaurant the features authentic Italian pizza does not use a high temp coal or wood fired oven to prepare their specialty?!? Our Margherita pizza was limp, lacked enough basil, and really NOT that good. The crust seemed good, but without proper cooking methodology, it fell quite short of expectations for us. And the fact that our waiter asked about parmesan on top of our pizza, and proceeded to spoon (bottled store bought quality, ughh) the non-freshly grated cheese on the incorrectly baked pizza, completed our negative critique.
Second, the martinis. We arrived during "happy hour" (before 7:00PM) and were informed of 2 for 1 martinis. We normally have a glass of wine with dinner, but we decided to try the "discounted" martinis. My wife ordered the Cosmo, and I the house "joiatini" which was a vodka and amarreto concoction. The first thing that you experience with these martinis is the "watered down" taste. One must wonder why that is so prominent???
We also ordered an appetizer before our pizza, the mussels in a tomato broth. The broth was correct, it was a bit zesty and tasted good with our bread. But we had a few mussels in the bowl that never opened up, and that's a no no for a serving chef to deliver to the customer. We informed our waiter of that, and, after quite a wait (not that we were waiting for it) he delivered 3 mussels in sauce. lolol

In a final analysis, this restaurant needs a good advisor to point out the couple of (relatively inexpensive) "tweaks" that will carry this restaurant to the level that they are trying to accomplish. Maybe the fact that the Riverview area has SO few good places to eat has made management complacent with what they are doing. But I beg to differ with that thought....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had a wonderful evening with greyhound friends. First visit and will be back! Excellent food and service (thank you, Sofia!) Warm atmosphere and gracious host! Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Mellow Monday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The pizza is great and the martinis are even better! I love Mellow Mondays they turn all of the lights low, light a bunch of candles around the bar and have great entertainment, and the best part...$5.00 martinis.! Just about any flavor you can think of.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joia Fabulous Pizza and Martini Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joia Fabulous Pizza and Martini Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joia Fabulous Pizza and Martini Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.