We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor seating with good view of river, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harpoon Harry's

Harpoon Harry's
1200 West Retta Esplanade, #55, Punta Gorda, FL 33951-1289
941-637-1177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 131 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating with good view of river, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The grouper basket here is really good. Large piece of grouper, fries and slaw. Maybe a bit pricey at 13.95 but nice view.
If it's busy you have to "hover" for a table that looks like they are leaving so you can claim it. Service is fast - almost too fast as they are so busy. Lots of beer on tap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    166
    129
    66
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dining on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband's daughter was visiting from Las Vegas so it was nice for her to have a water view. The best thing about this restaurant is the availability of tables that are right on the water yet you are sheltered from the hot sun. Also, should it be raining or really windy,they have clear plastic panels they lower to protect you. The food is good as is service. It is a great place to take land-locked guests, and great for residents to just relax. Well done

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love to Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We really love to have lunch at Harpoon Harry's... the variety on the menu is great. We love the view, the food, and especially the atmosphere. We have our favorite server, Kim, who has taken care of us for several years. As we've aged, we find going out for lunch is better for us and you will not find a better spot than Harpoon Harry's at Fisherman's Village.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunset atmosphere with South Florida flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Just finished having gator bites and grouper and both was very good
Would recommend especially around sunset

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Views great, Food mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For years we have visited Harpoon Harry's to enjoy their food, views of the ocean, and music/entertainment in the evening. However, this past visit was not as worthy of their food prep and service. Not sure if there is a changeover taking place or if it is because most snowbirds have returned North but the choice of dinners we all ordered lacked quality taste and preparation. Sorry to say, there are much better restaurants to eat at in the area. Not a favourite of ours....hope they bring Harpoon's back to top speed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Harry's also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Harpoon Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpoon Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.