We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? LOL!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harpoon Harry's

Harpoon Harry's
1200 West Retta Esplanade, #55, Punta Gorda, FL 33951-1289
941-637-1177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Service? LOL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We sat down and waited 18 minutes and nobody came over to see us. My wife goes to ask for a server, and 10 minutes later, still nobody.

Needless to say, we left.

It was Labor Day Monday and NOT busy. Disgusting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    166
    129
    66
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Took a 200 mile motorcycle ride with some of my crazy friends on Saturday and we ended up eating at Harpoon Harry's. This is a great location for a relaxing meal and beverages, chilling out looking at the bay, the boats and other crazy folks enjoying a day out. Thank's for the GREAT burger, very good (Black and Blue). Yummy! And Guinness on tap! OH YEAH! This is the second time I have been to Harpoon Harry's and enjoyed the first visit but did not give a review so I now have had TWO great experiences there. Also, they have ton's of tv's to watch sports on and that I like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view, bad service and awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The view at this restaurant is beautiful. However, the young wait staff are poorly trained, probably underpaid and the food is typical frozen bar food fare.
After being seated, we were ignored by three different wait staff despite me initiating contact with a friendly hello.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad Seafood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The food was tasteless. I think they forgot to season all of it. Four dinners, three were disappointments. The fourth dish was a salad. We also had raw oysters, and they had shell pieces in them. We have had raw oysters in many places and have not encountered this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good food in a very casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very good food in a very casual atmosphere. Open seating on a deck that overlooks the water. We had dinner one night and went back for lunch later in the week. The tilapia and grouper were both excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Harry's also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Harpoon Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpoon Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.