We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
300 West Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950 (Formerly Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill)
+1 941-639-9695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 136 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Sandwiches, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Our dinner turned into hours! Food was amazing... Carrie and Amber were attentive, friendly and knowledgable! They care about making your experience better than you could have imagined! We love Deans food and atmosphere and hurricane Charley's was right up there! All the girls.. Brandy, and Natalie and April are like a wonderful family... Whose warmth spills over to there customers! The place was full of happy happy customers! Can't wait to visit again from GA!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Manager at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are working very hard to make every dining experience the best it can be and depend on our customers for feedback. We hope you will return soon and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    124
    50
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“great venue on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Bit chilly on the patio last night but that was our election to stay outside. Service was great and very friendly. From being seated, to having our drink order taken and delivered, food ordered and served, it was all great. Very extensive menu and all four of us were pleased with our choices. Definitely recommend. The only complaint that I had is their telephone system. After three days of trying to call, finally sent an email. That worked.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words. We have a breathtaking view of Charlotte Harbor and are working hard to make Charley's the best it can be. We are VERY frustrated with the phones as well, after waiting 6 weeks for one vendor (we won't mention any names) we turned to another source and are waiting for them as well. There appears to be some issues with the existing lines in the hotel. We hope to have it resolved very soon. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Ate dinner there last Sunday after meeting a friend from the air show. Waited at least 45 minutes for a table even though the Resturant was half empty. Bar service ok- but why wait when the Resturant is half empty? Finally seated but food took forever to get and our waiter was worthless and on several occasions had to ask personel for water and bread. I reality I should not have left a tip for the waiter. You don't have to ask us for another chance asi won't come back! Very poor service and understaffing drive patrons away not bring them back. If your business was in Sarasota where I live you would already be gone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Manager at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We understand your frustration and even though you won't return we would like to apologize, every guest experience is important & a learning experience. We don't routinely bring water or bread to the tables as many guests do not want either, your server should ask. Many restaurants no longer routinely bring water in an effort to save resources. If your wait was 45 minutes your server should have told you prior to seating, this way you can choose to wait or to find another venue, we've recently addressed this issue at our last staff meeting. Although the restaurant is 1/2 empty we are a very large venue & seat approx. 200 and staff for what we approximate will be seated on that day. We cannot seat more at one time than the kitchen can handle or serve time will be delayed. It's difficult to judge coming out of season how busy a restaurant will be, we do our best to anticipate and staff accordingly. We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have been open less than 3 months and appreciate all feedback. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Fun bar. Very entertaining and engaging guitar player.Great service. Good grub.The tiki bar provides a great view of the sunset.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. If you follow our Facebook page you will see our sunset contest featuring guest photos of the beautiful Charlotte Harbor sunsets from our deck & surrounding areas. We think they're the best sunsets in Charlotte County! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good lunch, great service now that high season is over. Inside of hotel still needs improvement, but now there's an entrance from the harbor walk, so you can bypass that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We're improving daily and consider ourselves a work in progress. We have something special in mind for the interior of the lobby & restaurant, a pictorial of original photos of Old Punta Gorda out to be framed & will be ready soon. We chose to go without wall decor rather than put up canned art. Hurricane Charley's will be a history of the 2004 hurricane. We brought two beautifully potted palms into the lobby today and have an arrangement for the piano almost finished. We hope to have something different & unique when we are finished & beg your patience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.