We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Restaurant

Piccolo Restaurant
5354 Duncan Rd, Punta Gorda, FL 33982
+(1)941-621-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made an early reservation and were glad we did because the restaurant was full by 5:00 PM and people were waiting outside. We soon knew why Piccolo is so popular. The food was excellent! The veal parmesan was the best we have had in ages and so was the shrimp fettuccine alfredo. Pasta was excellent with a light, very flavorful fresh marinara sauce. There are only about 10 tables with very modest decor and relatively slow service since it appears to be family owned and operated. However, everyone in our party agreed we would definitely return. The restaurant may have to relocate to a much larger location due to its popularity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
“truely great home Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a reservation for 6 PM, arrived 10 minutes early and were seated almost immediately. The restaurant was almost full. We had two of the daily specials veal parmigiana and meat lasagna; both were fantastic. We did not expect fast service as all the food is cooked to order, however we ordered, and finished eating in 45 minutes. It is the best Italian food we have had in a long time. We WILL go back, just be sure to call for reservations as the tiny restaurant has seats for only 22 people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised. When we first arrived the place reminded me of a old kfc, once inside we found a very small eating area but almost every table taken, then I knew it must be good.
My husband had tge chicken milanese with soft polenta which was fresh and delicious. I had the clams with freshly made fettuccine in red sauce which was amazing.
I would highly recommend this restaurant, we waited a bit for our food but I guarantee it was WORTH THE WAIT !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food. Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This small new restaurant is in an old drive-through fast food place. I was completely shocked by how good it was. The service was a little confused and slow. We sat down to a full restaurant. We ordered a Caprese Salad and two entrees. The salad took a ridiculous time to come out. However, we were not disappointed. Tomatoes were fresh, the mozzarella was delicious. We waited another half hour for our entrees. My wife had eggplant, which was very good. I had Veal Parmigiana which was the best I've had in years. The homemade fettuccine which was supposed to come out with my dish was delayed so long that I had finished the veal. I ended up taking the pasta home and it was great the next day.

If they can get the service issues resolved, they will have a truly outstanding restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london ct
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You won't be sorry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Been three times before review .all 3 times food was very good .very small menu but what's on it is good .beer and wine available . pizza above average for this area and better then most .finding this little gem is a another story . no this is not a pizza house , but they do offer it .don't be in a hurry here because the food is fresh and cooked to order. so if you looking for fast your going to be disappointed , go to olive garden . worth the wait . most pasta is made fresh daily except spaghetti .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Restaurant also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Piccolo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.