We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all about food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amimoto Japanese Restaurant

Amimoto Japanese Restaurant
2705 Tamiami Trl, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
(941) 505-1515
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 125 restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Highlands, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it's all about food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

mediocre looking inside, this place surprises with the quality of the food and the size of the portions. seafood is obviously very fresh, and they put a generous amount in every kind of rolls. also, instead of usual 6 pieces rolls they offer 8. they definitely want to make sure no one stays hungry there.
i am not a fan of fried food whatsoever, but after i've tried my boyfriends calamari tempura, i immediately ordered another portion - it was that delicious!
service is nice and accommodating. will come back there again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    29
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ah-so!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

the food is terrific, and the service is attentive and gracious. Good old tempura remains our favorite.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fresh...PGI's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We love to go here. The sushi chef, who is Japanese, is the owner, the restaurant is small, and cozy. Very clean. The salmon entree, comes in a bento box presentation with lots of goodies, is EXCELLENT. It's a LARGE piece of salmon in the chef's special sauce and baked or broiled. Everyone who has had it raves about it. The sashimi and sushi is excellent. They serve wine and saki. One crazy dessert that they have is Red Bean ice cream in what feels like raw rice dough. My brother and I think it is just out of this world! It's tucked away in a corner of the Toll's Plaza on Rt. 41S, hard to see from 41. We think it's a best kept secret!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, good sushi,a bit pricey but worth a visit. Will reccommend to others. You dont want to skimp on price when itcomes to sushi.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sushi Sushi Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have always had a great experience at this restaurant and always go back for the same thing. It does get a little pricey but if you know what you're getting you cant complain (fresh fish). The service is good the people are nice and welcome you the moment you step in the door. I would recommend this place to the avid sushi eater!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amimoto Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast

Been to Amimoto Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amimoto Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.