We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ah-so!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amimoto Japanese Restaurant

Amimoto Japanese Restaurant
2705 Tamiami Trl, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
(941) 505-1515
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 124 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ah-so!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

the food is terrific, and the service is attentive and gracious. Good old tempura remains our favorite.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fresh...PGI's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We love to go here. The sushi chef, who is Japanese, is the owner, the restaurant is small, and cozy. Very clean. The salmon entree, comes in a bento box presentation with lots of goodies, is EXCELLENT. It's a LARGE piece of salmon in the chef's special sauce and baked or broiled. Everyone who has had it raves about it. The sashimi and sushi is excellent. They serve wine and saki. One crazy dessert that they have is Red Bean ice cream in what feels like raw rice dough. My brother and I think it is just out of this world! It's tucked away in a corner of the Toll's Plaza on Rt. 41S, hard to see from 41. We think it's a best kept secret!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, good sushi,a bit pricey but worth a visit. Will reccommend to others. You dont want to skimp on price when itcomes to sushi.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sushi Sushi Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have always had a great experience at this restaurant and always go back for the same thing. It does get a little pricey but if you know what you're getting you cant complain (fresh fish). The service is good the people are nice and welcome you the moment you step in the door. I would recommend this place to the avid sushi eater!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We live in Punta Gorda and have been to this restaurant about 5 times in the past year and have not been disappointed. The staff are extremely nice and friendly, and the sushi is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amimoto Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Amimoto Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amimoto Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.