We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch

John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch
502 King Street, Punta Gorda, FL
941-347-7645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wasn't sure if I'd try this restaurant after reading some bad reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised. Crab cakes eggs benedict were top shelf and the portion was huge. They also served scrapple which made this Philadelphian very happy! Service was very friendly and very quick. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My son and I had a hot date for breakfast decide to try it. It was absolutely divine... The service was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, filthy ladies room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have visited before during winter season, the service was terrible, so we thought we would give them another try in off season. This time we visited the first week of July. Both times the service was TERRIBLE! When we visited this time in the off season, not every table was full as before. Still it took FOREVER; for our order to be taken, then another FOREVER for our food to come. My hubby ordered the Corn Beef Hash with his breakfast, he said "It was the worst Corn Beef Hash" he had ever had. Another member of our group had the chili cheese omelet, he also said it was BAD; it tasted like canned chili dumped on an omelet. On top of bad service, the ladies room was filthy. When we were paying our bill at the register, the cashier asked us "how was everything"? My hubby told her, It was the worst Corned Beef Hash he had ever had. She had a standard response, no offer to take it off the bill or anything.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on either of your visits. As you can see from our numerous reviews we pride ourselves on quality food, great service and cleanliness.I will immediately look into your concerns and adress and resolve them with our staff.If there is anything I can do to enchance your future visit please feel free to stop in or call me to adress your concerns or suggestions. Thanks in advance for the oppurtunity to earn your business back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sunday after church event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have been going to John's place since the time he opened it, and it has become a Sunday event, sometimes only the wife and I, but other Sundays it's several with family members.
His food is always great, and served hot, some times it's a bit of a wait to get in, when the snowbirds are here, but the wait is worth it if your looking for great food at a fair price along with good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Place was clean, friendly prompt courteous service, prices ok, but seriously no air conditioning?
Cook needs to get a recipe for hollandaise sauce, brown looking and tasteless, great hash browns though !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for the comments. We were able to get the air fixed on Monday and we are very sorry for the discomfort of our guests and value those who still patronized us despite this inconvience. I personally reviewed the recipe for the hollandaise sauce with all of the kitchen satff as soon as you informed us of it on your visit and made immediate corrections. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Ski's House of breakfast and Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.