We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausage Gravy, Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
415 Cooper Street, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
1 941 639 2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 121 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Port Charlotte
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sausage Gravy, Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is the place for sausage gravy over biscuits. Do not order the double biscuits and gravy as it is way to large for one sitting. I had the single biscuit and gravy with additional gravy over the home fries, very good. The portions are large and the food is fresh. They also make very good omelets and will add or remove almost any item. The inside is basic (wooden picnic tables) but go for the food not the ambience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“This Place IS GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

You could easily drive right past this place or think you should drive past, but you would be missing a terrific breakfast and just a really good time. Four of us stopped in before a drive to the airport. We thought our appetites were big, but they did not match the portion size served at the Smokehouse. We were warned by a great waitress named Sam who suggested we go with half orders. We didn't realize she meant we should split a half order so we ordered half orders of biscuits and gravy as well as grits and gravy. The guys ordered ham and eggs and one of the special omelets. We can honestly say that all of the food was great especially that gravy which is just loaded with their home made sausage that has just a little bit of zing to it. The biscuits are light and fluffy and the grits melt in your mouth. The fried potatoes are a treat as well- big ole slices of potatoes fried up golden brown. Eggs are actually cooked the way you order them!
The waitresses hustle and make sure your coffee cups are full and check back to make sure you like what you are eating. You sit at picnic tables, and you may even end up sharing your table with another family - It's that kind of place- one of those places where you see everyone from the high school kids grabbing a bite before school starts to the old guys who come in and hold forth at their special table. It's one of those places where you feel like you know folks within minutes of sitting down. We highly recommend the Smokehouse and if you go there you might want to ask for Sam. She is sure to make you smile and will keep your coffee cup full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Food was good, it is loud and crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Basic picnic table breakfast place with pretty good food. The place is loud and everything echos. Waitresses are fast, loud and friendly. A standout is the half order of sausage gravy over country fries. These fries are round quarter inch thick slices of potato fried beautifully golden and covered with a white gravy full of sausage pieces. Large quantity. My fried egg and the sausage patty were ok, but kind of dry. The biscuit that my wife offered from her plate was really good. It was crowded this visit and noisy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Went in for biscuits and gravy and was very pleased. Very high amount of sausage in the gravy. Waitresses share duty. They all Come by to fill your coffee cup. Filled with locals in a very casual atmosphere. Rows of picnic tables and a large counter. Nothing fancy just good food at a fair price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Ordered pancakes and bacon. Overpriced and not very good. I went there due to the reviews and neighbor telling me it was a great place. Maybe it was an off day. The waitress was loud and unpleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.