We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trabue

Trabue
258 W Marion Ave, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
9416390900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Limited menu for lunch but we were a party of 6 and everyone thought the food was great and the service excellent. Going on our list as a favorite for sure.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“As Good As You'll Get In Punta Gorda and Environs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

With all due respect to previous reviewers, Trabue is one of the three or four best restaurants in Punta Gorda. This from a 20 year resident who has frequented virtually every restaurant in the City and County. While the service can be a bit spotty at times, and the noise level a bit high when crowded, you will be hard pressed to find better food locally. The menu, while not large, has relative variety and flare, and offers fresh ingredients, very well prepared and presented. It is a little higher priced than than average for the area, but in line with its few true competitors in food quality and taste. The escargots and mussel appetizers and the pork chop and short ribs are as good or superior to any we have tried in extensive traveling, and there is ample variety to satisfy any palate. The chef-manager, Keith, has put together a very fine dining venue; it has improved and matured during his tenure, and worth a visit if anywhere near Punta Gorda.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

To those negative reviews: your wrong, wrong, wrong! This place is amazing! As a young couple, we enjoy trying new places, and this is definitely a winner! -every time. We have been here for our anniversary and birthdays, and it's ALWAYS a true bet, fantastic! The wine dinner nights are by far a GREAT deal! The service-feels like home! Chef Keith came to our table every visit, he's like an artist with food!
Looking for something upscale and terrific between Sarasota and Naples? This is it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pick another restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had our best friend here over the Thanksgiving weekend and she wanted to treat us to a special dinner. We wish we had chosen another restuarant. First, I must say, the mussels were excellent. So good that we ordered a second helping. But from there, the meal went downhill. We each ordered a different seafood dish and we tasted each others. They all tasted the same. The shrimp and scallop dishes came with only 3 shrimp or scallops. The scallops were served on a base of pureed cauliflower. While the puree was tasty, there was hardly any on the plate. The fish dish was wrapped with something that they said was like prosciutto. Whatever it was, it was tough, dry and extremely salty. You could not taste the flavor of the fish for the salt. It was served with 4 brussels sprouts. Very disappointing for us and our friend...especially when paying about $25/plate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here a number of times, most recently at a wine dinner. Food is well prepared and high quality. Wine dinner is a great value, prices generally are on the high side but worth it. Also recently ate at Captains Table at Fishermans Wharf, same prices but it was dated and food was horrible. If you like Captains Table you probably won't like Trabue and vice versa.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trabue also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Trabue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trabue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.