We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day at Fishermans Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge

Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge
1200 W Retta Esp J36, Punta Gorda, FL
941-639-7959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award winning New England Seafood Style restaurant, from Fish 'N' Chips to Maine Lobster Salad, from Ipswich Clams to Grape Nut Pudding. Many lover specials too and a great gluten free menu. Watch stunning sunset views over Peace River while sipping a cocktail from the fully stocked bar. Voted 'BestSeafood Restaurant' with Charlotte Sun, Harbor's Hottest 'Freshest Seafood' and Business of the Year with Punta GOrda Chamber of Commerce.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely day at Fishermans Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a very nice lunch here at the Village Fish Market. The food (Crab Cakes) were first class. Our server was very nice and helpful. Very clean restaurant with a great view. Will visit again next time we are over from Switzerland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food was decent but the service was slow and inattentive. Waitin' tables ain't what it used to be. The outdoor patio was noisy because of the 'entertainment' vocal group so we sat inside. All in all it was just ...O ...K.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Been twice now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our first visit was a late lunch on Sunday after we had flown in from Toronto to stay in an apartment nearby.

My wife had the crab croissant and I had the phillysteak. Both superb and washed down with a beer.

Today we had lunch again. Me the calamari and my wife scallops.

All four dishes well cooked with attentive service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I am so glad to hear you were still able to join us after your long travels on Sunday! Not only did you stop by once, you enjoyed yourselves so much you came back again the very next day. Here at Village Fish Market we will take that as a compliment, thank you! Your business is appreciated. We can’t wait to serve you again soon!

Take Care,
Sue Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“sunday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Last minute, spur of the moment, decision was made not to make dinner at home last night. Where do we go? Our decision was rewarded with great food, service and ambiance very close to our condo. Fish and chips were our choice. Plentiful white, tender, flakey pieces of fish. A great bottle of Craggy Range wine from New Zealand. CR was founded in 1997 by a friend of mine Terry Peabody. Excellent wine. We were very pleased with our choices.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello James M- First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complement our restaurant. We are glad you went with your gut instinct to dine with us and as a result you were not disappointed in the decision you made. I like the Craggy Range wine too. We are delighted we were able to exceed all your expectations. If you like the fish and chips you will probably enjoy the Fishermen’s Platter where you can choose a selection of seafood items, you should try that next time you visit. Thanks for the positive review your comments are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Take Care,
Sue Randall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Key Lime Daiquiri or Margarita either or where is the alcohol?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Key Lime Festival well that deserves it own review, so we wont even go there.

The view is great. There is "out door seating" is side seating on a pavilion patio like structure. There are3 tables that are actually sitting looking at the water, first come first serve.

we ordered the festival special key lime margarita. when it arrived in daiquiri glasses we were all thrown off. Taste tart not really lime tart, but sour mix tart. We all began to drink them and each wondered where the alcohol was. When we told the waitress it was not good just chilled sour mix, she said "oh it is a very expensive special lime tequila", that is fine can we get some, her response to that is its sneaks up on you...well I am still waiting,

we did order oysters and conch fritters. Pretty hard to mess up oysters, the fritters were very greasy but ok.

For me as the reviewer I went, it is not on my must return list. Other reviewers seem to have higher opinion and ate more food than we did. So check it out and just beware of the special key lime tequila, it is more like ninja tequila you never knew it was there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, Owner at Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review I suspect that you might have visited another restaurant within Fishermen’s Village as we do not sell Conch Fritters and our ‘Key Lime Drink of the Day’ was a rum based drink, not tequila. If you visit Fishermen’s Village again why not give us a try – we have a great view too!!
Take Care,
Sue Randall
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.