We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace River Seafood

Peace River Seafood
5337 Duncan Road, Punta Gorda, FL
941-505-8440
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: There is info on blogthebeach.com.
Restaurant details
Description: There is info on blogthebeach.com.
Detroit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our second time having lunch here and as usual it was very busy. Prompt greeting and seating indoors (it was rather cool to eat outdoors that day). We were seated at a large table for just the two of us and we offered to share if necessary. Soon another couple joined us and we ended up not only having a delicious meal but enjoyed great company as well! My husband had the blue crabs, the house specialty, and I had 1/4 lb of boiled shrimp which was delicious. Well worth a stop for lunch and there is a fresh seafood market attached to the building around the back. Fresh, fresh, fresh seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    66
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old Florida style fish house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for a late lunch after a trip to Fisherman's Village and reading restaurant reviews for Punta Gorda. This place is a bit out of town but not too far off of 75. The restaurant is in what looks like an old house with a porch addition. It was full inside so we opted for a picnic table outside. It was a bit chilly and windy, but oh well. Our waitress was a bit hurried and abrupt. She voiced being annoyed by some of the customers wanting to change tables because of the wind.....I had the 1/2 pound shrimp/crab cake special.....shrimp were huge, crab cake was just ok. My husband had their jumbalya which he said was excellent. There was a blue crab special that many people were enjoying as we walked thru to our table. This certainly isn't fine dining but the seafood was good and fresh.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Heard it was supposed to have good food, so my wife and I stopped for lunch. Supposed to be "old Florida style" (quaint dump) and we were seated outdoors. I ordered a $16 grouper sandwich which was nothing special and my wife does not even remember what she got. Paper plates and plastic silverware. Service was poor and waitress acted like she was doing us a favor.
Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am not a big seafood fan, BUT this seafood was excellent! I had the Groper sandwich I had never seen such a thick piece of fish, which was excellent. They also had Florida lobster which is very hard to find, in a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Rental Southern Exposure
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thought it would be filled with locals, but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited this restaurant while driving from Fort Myers to Orlando...we thought it would be filled with locals, but everyone around us was from the North! We had their steamed platter which consisted of 10 shrimp, 10 oysters & 10 clams. Food was delicious & beer was cold. Service was friendly and quick! I heard some fellow diners ask for modifications from items on menu and they were quick to give you what you wanted. Every table was full but turnover was quick. Great place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peace River Seafood also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peace River Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace River Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.