We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Thai Food in Punta Gorda FL. ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
4214 Duncan Road, Punta Gorda, FL 33982
(941) 637-1616
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food in Punta Gorda FL. ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Yes indeed and very tasty too. Located outside of town on a two lane road is where the Royal Thai restaurant is located. We were in the mood for Thai food and had heard about this good out of the way Thai restaurant and so we decided to give it a try and we we weren't disappointed. We had the shrimp rolls for a starter. They were fried, crispy and tasty, a good choice. We then thought to order Pad Thai , the standard that we use for Thai food. I ordered pork #3 spicy and my wife ordered the shrimp #1 spicy. Well it came out reversed but we switched dinners and we both enjoyed the meal. The service was attentive, the food tasty. The restaurant was very crowded and the dinners were a little slow getting to us but we'll definitely give them another try.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gregory, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I will begin by telling you we have made two trips to this restaurant of about 40 miles one way! This restaurant is out in the middle of Podunk Egypt (you know what I mean) but is worth the trip. You really have to want to find it to get there! The food is some of the best we have had on our stay. I have had two kinds of fried rice and my sweetie had Pad Thai and the Egg Noodle. You must have the Spring roll appetizer to begin and the Sesame Pancake for dessert. We met the owner June, and she is very charming. We like this restaurant! It is on the high side for cost. We don't drink so that makes the bill a little less. They are closed Monday and Tuesday and open at 4:00 PM on the days they are open. For a restaurant to stay in business for over twenty years and be so remote and limited as to times says something about the food. We found Christina serious and efficient, not grumpy as some have said.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Loved our return visit to the Thai Restaurant. Great meal with food left over... Even with generous servings. The service is personal. Free soup before or meal. Everyone at our table was fat and happy with what we received. Try the dessert... A sesame pancake. Wow!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Unusual food, family recipes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

You know it's Thai food but these are family recipes. Can't find the seasoning that they use on their wings anywhere else. Had the sweet and sour chicken, best ever. Not overly sweet, no syrupy sauce, perfect sweet and sour. Appetizer plater is a great way to start. Go to this place and enjoy your dinner. Small, so get there early. The owner may even come out from the kitchen and ask how your dinner was. We go whenever we are in town.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Suggest making reservations as this is a small restaurant and very popular! Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Most of all, our meal was delicious and menu had many choices for us vegans. Will recommend to our friends and want to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.