We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG DISAPPOINTMENT & NOT AN INEXPENSIVE RESTAURANT!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Opus

Opus
201 W. Marion Ave., Punta Gorda, FL
941.575.2352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Opus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sullivan
Description: Our goal is to bring outstanding food quality and warm, friendly customer service together under one roof to create an outstanding dining experience unique to this area. In a world where rushed meals have become an icon of contemporary culture, the unparalleled luxury of a relaxed dinner spent at OPUS Restaurant will reaffirm that food is indeed a celebration of life!
North Port, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BIG DISAPPOINTMENT & NOT AN INEXPENSIVE RESTAURANT!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was the second time we dined at Opus! The first time was great, we have the Hazelnut crusted Chicken w/fingerlin potatoes & veggies. I had read bad reviews, but like to decide for ourselves. Well, we have the exact same dish & the chicken was bone dry. The potatoes were soggy. The waiter said he would tell the chef. The check was $120. We will not be returning to this restaurant again. Much to expensive at $24 for a chicken dish to have it not taste good. At these prices, the chef should ALWAYS be excellent. No excuses!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SweetonGeeks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New Gem...Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Aside from Perfect Caper I haven't had a restaurant I adore in Punta Gorda in a while. Opus has remedied that for this foodies. Now with that said I will offer criticism as well to balance my adoration of the place. The tomato salad was amazing but I wished for Mozzarella over goat cheese but that's just me. The filet was so delicious (REALLY) but my medium rare was more medium. However, the flavors were balanced with the gorgeous sweet leeks. The pot de creme was delicious even though the texture was more ganache and less custard-like. They have some new menu items I am looking forward to trying like a lemon sorbet in a lemon shell. The service is always impeccable and well timed. The atmosphere is so soothing, from the comfortable chairs to the excellent music selections. Prices are right on for the quality of service and food. They hit the perfect note for a retreat on a hot night. I expect Opus to continue getting better and better!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We ordered from the FixePrix menu and were not disappointed. My wife has a generous portion of Yellon Fin Bass and I had the pork tenderloin.The pork was cut in small medallions, with a strip of BBsauce on top, nesting on Maple Laced Grits. The flavors exploded in my mouth! Male wait staff was very attentive and not obtrusive. You MUST put this resaturant on your to do list

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very tasteful; very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Based on some research on TripAdvisor and the restaurant's own website, I decided to try it for dinner. I started with the Carpaccio Duo, and it was the best of both worlds. Some fine beef filet and tuna. Very good. I then had the Seared Grouper. The fish was a bit more cooked than seared, but still passable. The sauce and accompaniments were very good.
One quibble: when I am solo I like to eat at the bar, and this one was very nice except for the chairs. They sit too low, you feel like a little kid with your chin barely clearing the table. I would still go back for the food, though.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A touch of elegance in Punta Gorda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you want a quiet atmosphere with wonderful LIVE background music, great food, and wonderful service you need to go to Opus. I had the grouper with fresh vegetables and a delicious caper sauce-cooked perfectly. The only criticism I would make is we were celebrating a birthday and they did not recognize it in any way.
We would go back, but but not for a birthday.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Opus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.