We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Cabbage Key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Fisher Fleet

King Fisher Fleet
1200 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
+1 941-639-0969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Activities in Punta Gorda
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sightseeing Cruises and Fishing Charters in Southwest Florida.
Port Charlotte, Fl.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to Cabbage Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

About a month ago on Fathers Day, My wife and I went on a day trip from Punta Gordaa, Fl. to Cabbage Key with King Fisher. We left about 9:00 AM and arrived at Cabbage Key about Noon time. We spent about two hours on the Island. Had an excellent lunch with good service. Also had time to walk around the area. We left the island about 2:30 and arrived back to Fisherman Village about 4:30 PM. We saw a number of Dolphins both going and coming back. The Captain and crew did a good Job and served us well. Over all we enjoyed the trip and would recommended to others Bob and Pearl Hull, Port Charlotte, Fl.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    4
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charlotte Harbor Cruise - No Dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We took the 90 minute Charlotte Harbor cruise for $16.95 per person with the hopes of seeing some bottlenose dolphin. The cruise was very relaxing and we learned a lot about the area. We cruised past some pelicans and anhinga birds, then we toured a nice canal area in Port Charlotte with beautiful homes. The only dolphin we saw was a picture of one on one of the deckhand's phone. He made sure everyone saw the photo. So I guess you can say we saw a dolphin.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chose another tour operator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having previously made several trips to Cabbage Key with out of town guests from the Sanibel/ Captiva area with other tour operators, we excited to try a new route down the Peace River. At the height of tourist season in, late February, it seemed that Punta Gorda would be an easier port to start from as well. We were very disappointing that we didn't stick with the trips we've used in the past.
The boat was jam packed, as expected. There is very little room to move around and you are basically stuck in a seat for the entire journey. The 10 year old child we had with us was terribly bored through the entire journey. The Captain did provide some historic, geographic and environment information about the area on the trip out. But, while the information was all accurate, it too was quite dry and boring. The man who was "servicing" the guests while the Captain drove, offered a very limited menu of drinks and snack for purchase. We were horrified to witness this man being very rude to several passengers on the boat. Often because his own directions were unclear.
While the Peace River estuary can be a fascinating area and is very important to the SWFL ecosystems, this route to the islands is no where near as interesting or picturesque as the trip from Captiva. I would highly suggest taking the drive and approaching the islands from that area if possible. We will not be using this operator again for the Cabbage Key or any other tour.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

In March 2012 four of us looked forward to the full day Cabbage Key island boat cruise. It was a very lovely warm sunshiney day. It is a long two hour boat trip to the island. Highlight of the day was we saw three dophins on the way to the island. Landing at the island are other tour boats. So the only place to eat, is give your name and stand in a long line for very expensive food. I had a $9.25 very small burger. You are given two hours to explore the island and eat lunch. We had no time to explore at all! Long trip back to Fishermans Village. No dialogue from the crew on the way back. And no other fish sightings. Very boring. Major disappointment. You are asked not to bring your own lunch in their brochure.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NICE SUNSET CRUISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was a nice 1 hour sunset cruise. It is not narrated, so there is no info about what you a seeing on the trip. They have some drinks and snacks on board for sale.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Fisher Fleet also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to King Fisher Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Fisher Fleet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.