We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Prime Rib” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Torch Bistro

Torch Bistro
2113 S. Tamiami Trail, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-5921
941-575-3505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Torch Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 136 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Airport Road
Description: Every city has a up and coming restaurant where the atomsphere is great and the chef is a superstar. These restaurants are hot for one reason, they ensure your dining experience will be unforgettable. If you're looking for great service and creative, delicious food, you're sure to find it at Torch Bistro, Steak and Rumtini Bar, a Punta Gorda jewel.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worse Prime Rib”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

They advertise "best prime rib". It was terrible. It was like they took it out of a shrink wrap package. I was so looking forward to the prime rib. The wait staff was kind of fun. We had a gal who was brand new and she had a long way to go. Great personality though and I think she could learn the ropes easy enough. Needless to say I will not go there for prime rib. Might try something else.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    58
    27
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Been there only once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food was very good. Had their prime rib special at under $10. Not the typical US large quantity but great quality and very tasty. We'll be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good Prime Rib special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just took my Wife to the Torch Bistro last night. It was our 1st time, but won't be our last.. They have a very good Prime Rib special. 8 0r 9 ozs of Prime rib with mash potato and veggies. I had mine with Sweet Potato fries. Small up charge but well worth it.. The portions are just right, not too much that when you finish you say to yourself I'm stuffed.... Left room for dessert, we split a piece of Carrot Cake for $5.00. HUGE piece, the two of us did not finish it.. I dont think it was made there but it was very good.

The place inside is very nice... Outside as well. When we were leaving it was still light out but they had torches lite outside, looked great.....
I always thought this was a very pricey restaurant from their commercials, but it really isnt. You can get plates from the $9.00 special, amd it tops out at around $24.00 I believe..

We will return........

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten here numerous times and have never been disappointed. Excellent food and outstanding service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoy going to the Torch where the owners are always present at the front desk, behind the bar and being the chef. Not all the same people, 3 owners. The food is upscale in its taste and presentation. The fried calamari is the best you will ever eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torch Bistro also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Torch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torch Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.