We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really amazing hotel--PG has come a long way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda to your Saves list
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Really amazing hotel--PG has come a long way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is not a chain hotel (I asked, sorry to learn there aren't more out there). My husband is from Punta Gorda originally and we traveled back there on business. This is a far cry from the Best Western and old tired hotels Punta Gorda had to offer. The lobby isn't much, but the rooms were quiet, elegant, plenty of room and the bathrooms were amazing!! Beautiful, well done, I felt like I was in a 5 star hotel at an awesome price. We ate dinner on the rooftop and it was amazing! Gorgeous views, food was excellent and the service attentive but not annoying. Really looking forward to returning. Good value for the cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you mommusega for your review! I am so glad to hear of your enjoyment of our hotel, from the clean, quiet guest rooms to the "attentive, but not annoying service." We appreciate you for giving your honest feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Gratefully,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    40
    13
    14
    7
See reviews for
44
94
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is an amazing hotel right in the middle of Punta Gorda. The hotel is clean, with all high end products, an amazing rooftop bar/pool, and the best customer service anywhere. I was in town on business for a week and they treated me like part of the family. I would highly recommend this hotel for business (they have great free wifi) or for a family getaway. Dont forget to visit the Fishermans Village where there are several neat little shops to visit right on the water (see pictures)

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the front side so you can have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind words about The Wyvern Hotel. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Gratefully,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Wyvern Hotel while travelling down the Gulf Coast in September/October. We came across this gem after stopping at, and viewing two other hotels in Punta Gorda. This hotel is just wonderful! The lobby, room, rooftop bar and swimming pool are very well appointed and very elegant. The room is first class and the bathroom was out of this world, no detail was missed. Not just a 'great hotel for Punta Gorda'; this hotel could hold its own in any city.

We stopped in Punta Gorda on a whim, but if we are ever in the area again, I would make the drive to The Wyvern Hotel.

Room Tip: I'm sure that all of the rooms are great; check out the rooftop bar for a drink in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyvern Hotel. Our goal is your satisfaction, and it seems we were able to make your stay more than satisfactory. We are always here for you, our guest, and hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the Punta Gorda area again.

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is what a hotel should be. The minute you walk into your room, you feel relaxed and comfortable. The bathroom is elegant and large. All the amenities are there, including fee Wi-Fi. Temperature control is perfect. The front desk person, Chris, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable My husband and I would recommend The Wyvern to anyone stay8ing in Punta Gorda. It's well kept, well decorated and extremely clean. It's a great area to be in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Joan B,

Thank you for your glowing review, and for choosing to stay at the Wyvern Hotel. We are very much appreciative of your time to write to us and let the world know of your experience at our fine facility. I am glad to hear that you found myself of great enjoyment during your recent visit. We pride ourselves on friendly and efficient service, clean facilities, and upscale amenities like no other in the area; glad to hear that you found those as well!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Wyvern, we're always to here to be of service to YOU!

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Wyvern Hotel in Punta Gorda last weekend. It was absolutely a wonderful experience! The rooms were clean and spacious, the bathroom was gorgeous and the beds were so comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly, Chris Heaxt and Vanessa were wonderful! Thank you Wyvern for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DianaS340,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyvern Hotel. Our staff is pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the we have top offer, from our over-sized rooms to the lush bedding, not to mention the spacious bathrooms. I am glad to hear that you found myself and Vanessa of great joy to your needs.

Once again, I thank YOU for your candid feedback as it will help us grow to better serve our guests, much like yourself.

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have now stayed at the Wyvern about ten days in the last month. I was concerned about some of the other reviews but the service has been awesome! Warm and Southern, so if you're looking for a high-fashion boutique experience look elsewhere. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. My one piece of advice is what others have said about the music from the roof deck on weekends - it is loud on the fifth floor. But the lower floors are quieter and the staff will quickly offer a change of rooms if it's too loud. I found that the music is part of the fun atmosphere but it may not be for everyone. I will be staying here again a few more times in the next month and it's starting to feel like a second home!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Julie,

I would simply like to say THANK YOU for your review! I am so happy that you enjoy staying here with us and enjoy all that we have to offer. I will be sure to thank the staff personally on your behalf for providing great service that is second-to-none, and what the Wyvern Hotel is known for.

If my self or the staff may be of any further assistance to make your experience one-of-a-kind, please reach out to us directly, it is always our pleasure.

See you soon!

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The Wyvern is an excellent hotel in Punta Gorda. It is a small hotel with elegance that is by far better than some of your well named chains. The rooms are superb and the bathroom is very large with separate tub and shower. The shower is large with a big enough holder for your items. Each room has a sofa and desk area for comfort and space to get work done. The Rooftop bar is a wonderful area to relax and the Resturant is very good. The staff are attentive and very kind. The location is great since it is close a multitude of local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you tsoard for your comments! We pride ourselves on taking care of each and every guest to create that true, southern hospitality that Punta Gorda is known for. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms spacious and accommodating for your needs.

Thank you once again for your kind review. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.