We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Save Saved
You added The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Punta Gorda
St-Lazare
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wyvern only one night, the last night of our Florida vacation, to be close to the Punta Gorda airport. We arrived without a reservation and without knowing the hotel. We were thrilled with our find! The room was modern and clean, the bed was comfortable and what a nice added bonus: the rooftop terrace! Too bad we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    26
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
54
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Wyvern Punta Gorda in early February on business. What a find! This is one of the nicest properties I stayed in during my recent business trip to Florida, squarely beating the Renaissance Boca Raton by strides.

The rooms are what make this hotel what it is, although the roof-top terrace is quite lovely. My room was extremely large, with great appointments, a fantastic bed with great linens, and a huge bathroom. The separate soaking tub and huge glassed in shower were wonderful. The hotel was a fantastic value for the money. My only complaints were that the restaurant stopped serving food too early, and didn't begin breakfast service early enough to meet my needs. Otherwise, wonderful property. I hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After a rocky start to our relationship with the Wyvern thanks to the blaring music coming from the bar across the parking lot on weekend nights, we've learned to request harbor-side rooms and have quickly fallen back in love with this hotel. The rooms are spacious, spotless and are tastefully decorated and well-appointed. Super-comfy beds and high-quality linens. Excellent water pressure and yummy-smelling bath products! Lots of room to spread out and relax.

The staff are STELLAR! We've had a positive encounter with at least a dozen of them so far and have walked away with the impression that each and every one of them genuinely likes their job and wants to assist! Front desk personnel is happy to greet us and get us checked in/out and on our way.

The upstairs lounge and pool area offers a stupendous bay view and terrific service as well. What a place to catch the sunset. Our meals at Lulu have all been wonderful and relaxing. On our stay last month, with a 2-day notice, chef took a request and prepared our favorite risotto dish from a previous visit (even though it was not on the menu!). Once again, happy, service-oriented staff :-)

We are heading back down next week for our second week-long stay of the winter and are so excited to get settled back in to our Punta Gorda "home" :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor offer great views and no music noise from the nightclub across the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here two nights while we celebrated our anniversary. The Wyvern is a clean, virtually new, well-appointed hotel. Rooms are very nice, in particular the mattress and sheets were of very high quality and very comfortable. Our room had two comfortable reading chairs and a safe, a most welcome amenity. Rooftop bar is welcoming, and the view is nice. Service is good, and drink prices are very reasonable. We did not have an opportunity to try the restaurant.
One complaint: parking is woefully inadequate in the evenings.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My room was enormous - 15'x18' - and elegant. Bed plushly wrapped in fine linens. A loveseat and an armchair grouped around a low table - perfect for relaxing. And the bath! A huge 12'x15' expanse of marble and tile accented with dark wood. The shower easily held two. A deep soaking tub the perfect place to pamper myself after a long run. This is the sort of room I can't afford in other cities - nice to find it here at a bargain price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

no coffee between 12pm-5pm?
i can't get a pillow "after housekeeping leaves" after 8pm?
no soap in the bathroom when i arrive?
a freezing pool that is useless?

i know this is florida, but really? i would have expected a little better from the "best place around" according to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very clean, well appointed rooms. Odd on-line reservation system which according to desk clerk is only accessible by the General Manager, who was not on premises when I checked in, requiring me to go thru the entire registration process in person. Very annoying. Parking is limited on weekends due to competing nearby venues. Great bar/pool on roof top which offers a spectacular view of Charlotte Harbor.

Room Tip: Harbor view would be most desirable. Avoid the south side which faces an outdoor bar/restaurant wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.