We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Save Saved
You added The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Punta Gorda
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very clean, well appointed rooms. Odd on-line reservation system which according to desk clerk is only accessible by the General Manager, who was not on premises when I checked in, requiring me to go thru the entire registration process in person. Very annoying. Parking is limited on weekends due to competing nearby venues. Great bar/pool on roof top which offers a spectacular view of Charlotte Harbor.

Room Tip: Harbor view would be most desirable. Avoid the south side which faces an outdoor bar/restaurant wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    32
    12
    13
    6
See reviews for
37
73
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautiful property with a great rooftop lounge to take in the Charlotte Harbor sky!

The rooms are flawless and are fitted out with details that usually are seen only in more expensive surroundings. Great beds and swank linens! Staff was very welcoming and sweet.

The only minor nit to pick is the noise should there be live music on the roof. If there is an "orchestra" playing and you don't wish to be at the party, try to find a room on the lower floors!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors are more restful if the music on the roof doesn't suit your tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Cove, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here on several occasions while researching the purchase of our seasonal home in Punta Gorda, Florida. The rooms were all very nicely appointed with good linens and lots of granite and gleaming surfaces in the en suite bathroom. Higher level rooms on the north side have the best views of Charlotte Habour. Although some reviewers have complained of noise when there is live entertainment on the rooftop, we did not experience any problems during our stays. The views of the harbour are enjoyable from the rooftop terrace although the configuration of the hotel building (higher on the west side) blocks the view of the sun as it sets over the water. Lulu's restaurant on the ground level was a pleasant change from the usual hotel fare and the same kitchen offers a more limited menu on the rooftop terrace.
There is ample public parking across the road at Laishley Marina and valet parking is also offered at The Wyvern. The hotel is also one of the pick up/drop off locations for the free bicycle rental program operated by Punta Gorda: a pleasant way to tour the adjacent downtown and the bike paths throughout the harbour area.
We did purchase a home in Punta Gorda and now return regularly to The Wyvern for meals or drinks when we entertain family or friends visiting from Canada or overseas or when we feel like a night out.

Room Tip: North side rooms on the higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My Mom & I lucked upon this hotel when we were booking a room for the Cinderella ballet at the Convention Center. It was easy to find and when we arrived they hadn't taken down the Christmas decor yet; so, it was very warm & welcoming in the lobby after an 8 hour drive. The staff was very friendly and helped make the check in process smooth. The room was immaculate and very clean with a nice view. We only stayed a couple of nights; so, we didn't get to use all the facilities, but the building itself was very lovely. The location was so close to where we had to go for the ballet that we walked there & the weather was great! I would definitely stay here/ recommend this place to everyone. My Mom is even asking if they have a Wyvern in Jacksonville for our trip later this month!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's not often we stay at a non-Marriott hotel, but the Wyvern came highly recommended and the Wyvern was closest to where we needed to be. What a fabulous place. Easy and friendly check-in, lovely room, walking distance to shops and restaurants, cool roof-top bar. And then we climbed into bed - oh, the sheets! It was one of the better night's sleep I've had in a hotel.

We only stayed a night, but would definitely come back. Only oddity was that the restaurant didn't open for breakfast until 8:00 am, but they served us quickly when we said we were on a tight timeline and the food was good and not overpriced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I frequent this hotel,it's in my neighborhood. Every Friday and Saturday nights there is either a band or a DJ, the food is excellent (a bit pricey but worth it) and the view just takes your breath away. Great fun with friends and very romantic for an evening date.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Even though we live locally, we will still stay at the Wyvern a few times a year. First Class rooms, clean quite, beautiful decor. Numerous restaurants and bars within a 2 block walk. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 East Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.