We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doing very good work, and interesting docents” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace River Wildlife Center & Ponce De Leon Park

Peace River Wildlife Center & Ponce De Leon Park
3400 W Marion Ave, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
941 637 3830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Punta Gorda
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“doing very good work, and interesting docents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was afraid that this was going to be one of the "little zoos" we have seen in other parts of FL where the animals are in small cages; but no, this is a rescue operation, releasing those it can, and keeping only those who won't survive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    35
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little crabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Take a walk on the trail on the right side of the beach and you will see tons of little crabs scurrying all over. Good thing they're afraid of humans or I would have been afraid of them! Kids should love this-we did and we had no kids with us. The bird sanctuary was closed but looked great. We peeked through the fence but wished we could have walked through. The view of the bay is pretty and benches are provided. I think young children would like the park (it had a playground) and the bird sanctuary. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bird Sanctuary and park are worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Bird sanctuary is small, but has a wide variety of injured and rescued wild birds, eagles, sea birds of all kinds and a wonderful collection of owls. Feeding time was a lot of fun to see, too. Nice small beach like area, mangroves to explore and fish from, and park with ample picnic space and a playground.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

They do a remarkable job with the wildlife here. The volunteers who work here treat the animals like their children. They are all well exhibited and beautiful to see . This is a gem for the children to interact with the wildlife.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peace River Wildlife Center. This is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Peace RIver Wildlife Center is located at the Ponce De Leon Park in Punta Gorda. GO THERE. Right on the water, there's a little beach, place to have a picnic. A fishing platform, place to put in a small boat (BEST - A Kayak, and paddle up through the Mangroves). Watch the sunset - doesn't get much better than this! The Wildlife Center itself is a treasure. Native birds and small wildlife - most rescued - beautifully protected and loved by the dedicated staff. A great little gift shop. Donations requested - you will definitely want to donate to this special organization! NOW - the precious little white owl that had been (apparently) kicked out of the next because he is not supposed to be all white....he's being raised as an ambassador for the center and he is captivating. A charmer!

If you're a wine drinker, go online and purchase the private label Peace River Wildlife Center wines from Benefit Wines. We served these at our Christmas Party this year and they were all wonderful. You'll have some good wine, while supporting a great cause!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peace River Wildlife Center & Ponce De Leon Park also viewed

 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peace River Wildlife Center & Ponce De Leon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace River Wildlife Center & Ponce De Leon Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.