We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly Bartender” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Celtic Ray

The Celtic Ray
145 E Marion Ave, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
(941) 916-9115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 130 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Surly Bartender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

They have a good selection of brew and Irish Whiskey. Although we did not have food this time, we have in the past and it was good. We were there a little before closing time and I have to say, the bartender was just short of rude to start and at closing time he crossed right over into fully rude. I have seen him in there before, but usually has help they are friendly. He made a good night a little less pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best authentic Irish Pub, & Bst fish & chips in Punta Gorda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Celtic Ray is our favorite pub & restaurant for fish & chips. It's the warmest, the liveliest, the most fabulously tasty fries (chips!) and the lightest, crispest, non-greasy fish. I kid you not! Been there as often as we can for the past 3 winters

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Not much as far as food flavor or selection or atmosphere. Would not take the tme to return here even forca beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great downtown location. Enjoyed the experience but nothing special about the place. Don't expect too much.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had dinner here on a Sunday, which was open mic night. Music was good...one stand up comedian was a bit racist...not cool. If you like British Pub food...I was impressed. I had the Tandoori Pasty...it was yummy...came with Chips (french fries) and I added a side of curry sauce. GREAT beer selection!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Ray also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Celtic Ray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.